You Want MIDI, I Give You MIDI. . Come with me to the Garden

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Pilgrim

You Want MIDI, I Give You MIDI. . Come with me to the Garden

Post by Pilgrim » Sat May 22, 2004 3:53 pm

O.K. then, make it Green Peppers!

Who recognizes where that came from?

I downloaded Live demo to see if it was easier and better than similar implementations in Acid, Sonar, Logic, DP, Divine, Cyclone, etc. (Pro Tools not considered.)

I was curious if EVERYTHING that Live does for everyone else might be useful to me.
I bought Live ASAP!

I am an editor/mixer/producer. My interest comes post tracking and pre-mastering. Sometimes I write/originate phrases. Sometimes I do lots of interesting stuff.

Rewire is as close a connection to MIDI sequencing as I want for Live!

When I opened Live the first time I was absolutely astonished to find that the Arranger section was a very capable audio tracking environment.

Sessions view was a shocker.
That understood, what about MIDI, I asked myself?

Suddenly I realized that Live was almost an exact replica (using audio) of my Yamaha RM1x (using MIDI and a tone generator/effects/sequencer to produce audio).
Any RM1x users out there that know what I mean?

Additionally, Live begs to be MIDI controlled and external MIDI control is drop-dead easy to set up and adjust!

My RM1x is used most often, these days, as a hardware MIDI controller for both software and hardware devices. (Now with Live!)
My RM1x is also my favorite mobile music creation device (MIDI sequencer). It will work on 12 volts and with headphones ANYWHERE.

For those of you who might know why I love my RM1x (Marco!), the RM1x is a high end Yamaha XG device with a different (I’m glad) voice set. The tone generator, effects block and sequencer are absolutely XG.
Yamaha is picky about what has the XG label on the box so, without absolute XG file compatibility, the RM1x is not labeled XG.