default midi map?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
evening
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:12 pm

default midi map?

Post by evening » Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:16 pm

I would like to have a default midi map load on Live startup - is this possible?

Maybe I'm missing something in the manual ...

peace,

evening

harb
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 5:46 pm

Post by harb » Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:17 pm

evening,

You can save a song with midi notes, controllers and qwerty keys mapped to parameters in Live. Therefore you can just as easily do this to a Live session without any clips loaded. Once this is complete, save the song and name it something like, "Template 1". Then you can open this "Template 1" and just save as when you get a song complete. You will always retain your empty "Templates"
as long as you save as when saving your Live sessions.

peace,

harb

Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Post by Alex » Fri Jun 07, 2002 12:03 am

Hi evening,

harb was right but there is still a better solution.
What you can do is to make a song with all the default settings you want (tracks, sends, routings, midi mappings,....). Then save this song as "LiveTemplate" in the ableton preferences folder. This will replace the internal default song for every start of Live and every 'New live set' menu command. So instead of the "normal" internal default song (the one with 8 tracks, 2 sends, 10 scenes) this template song will be created.

But the current 1.5 version of Live has a bug which results in a lost of all track routing if a track of LiveTemplate is routed to something else than 'master'.

The update we will release probably in the next days includes a fix for this behaviour.

regards,
Alex

evening
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:12 pm

thanks!

Post by evening » Fri Jun 07, 2002 7:54 pm

Alex,

That's the solution I was looking for.

peace,

evening
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:12 pm

Hmmm. didn't work

Post by evening » Fri Jun 07, 2002 8:17 pm

Alex,

I should mention that I'm using OSX & Live1.5
I saved a song as "LiveTemplate" in
/Users/evening/Library/Preferences/Ableton/
but...
upon restarting Live still uses the "internal" settings for midimap/track routing etc


:?

hmmm

Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Post by Alex » Sat Jun 08, 2002 12:09 am

Hi evening,

sorry, maybe my description was not clear enough. The song must be named "LiveTemplate.als".
I'm already at home now not having a Mac here so I will check it tomorrow on OS X.

regards,
Alex

evening
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:12 pm

Post by evening » Sun Jun 09, 2002 4:30 am

Alex,

adding the .als extension did the trick - Thanks!

:lol:

evening
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:12 pm

Post by evening » Sun Jun 09, 2002 4:34 am

Alex,

adding the .als extension did the trick - Thanks!

:lol:

Post Reply