2 USB PORTS

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Kumbo

2 USB PORTS

Post by Kumbo » Thu Jun 06, 2002 9:19 am

hi, i have a question,

is it convenient to use 2 USB ports at the same time?, like lets say...

one for a sound card
and the other for a midi interface?

does using 2 slow down the flow?

thegreatsoprendo
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2002 12:35 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by thegreatsoprendo » Thu Jun 06, 2002 3:37 pm

hi Kumbo,

i think this depends on whether each port has its own controller or they are sharing a controller. if they're sharing, using two devices will eat up the bandwidth, especially if one of them is an audio interface. but i guess with the midiman quattro and emi's new 2|6m having audio and midi, it might be possible even on one controller.

Kumbo

usb

Post by Kumbo » Fri Jun 07, 2002 11:08 am

but what do you mean by CONTROLLERS?

how do you specify them?

thegreatsoprendo
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2002 12:35 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by thegreatsoprendo » Fri Jun 07, 2002 1:35 pm

Sorry, didn't make that very clear. USB's bandwidth is 12Mbps, and that bandwidth is shared by every port on one USB controller (or USB chain). So, if your computer has just one port and you plug in a hub, everything shares that 12Mbps. If your computer has two ports, they might have a controller each, meaning each has the full 12Mbps bandwidth. but they might be connected to the same controller - like a hub inside the computer - so they have to share.

zendo
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 9:08 am
Location: berlin

USB

Post by zendo » Tue Jun 11, 2002 11:54 am

How can I find out whether my 2 USB ports share one controller? I have huge problems using Live with the EMI 2|6 and an MIDI Interface (Edirol UM-1E USB/MIDI-Interface) connected to a MIDI controller (NI 4Control).
Z.

thegreatsoprendo
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2002 12:35 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by thegreatsoprendo » Tue Jun 11, 2002 5:19 pm

I'm not sure how you find out, if it's a mac i'd try their tech support knowledgebase, it's pretty comprehensive and easy to search. maybe some pc users will be able to point you in the right direction if you're using windows?

Rx
Posts: 684
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 10:33 pm
Location: NY
Contact:

Post by Rx » Tue Jun 11, 2002 7:05 pm

Zendo,

If you use a PC, what OS? The 2|6 drivers for Win2000 & XP are awful with Live and Reason. Emagic claims that they work well with Cubase, but that is not really the case in my experience.
Arp Laszlo
arphaus.com

Dell 6000d: 2.0ghz Pentium 760 | 1gb DDR2 ram
Echo Indigo DJ | Korg microKONTROL | faded black t-shirt emblazoned with 'Detroit' in gothic type

zendo
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 9:08 am
Location: berlin

2 USBs

Post by zendo » Thu Jun 13, 2002 3:54 pm

I use Win98SE.
Z.

Rx
Posts: 684
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 10:33 pm
Location: NY
Contact:

Post by Rx » Thu Jun 13, 2002 5:00 pm

I just got a response from Emagic, who suggested that I might need to update drivers if I have a VIA chipset on my motherboard, which I will look into tonight or tomorrow.
Arp Laszlo
arphaus.com

Dell 6000d: 2.0ghz Pentium 760 | 1gb DDR2 ram
Echo Indigo DJ | Korg microKONTROL | faded black t-shirt emblazoned with 'Detroit' in gothic type

Post Reply