step sequencer or arpegiator plug in

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
aniajudie
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:52 am

step sequencer or arpegiator plug in

Post by aniajudie » Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:19 pm

anyone know of a cool step seq plug in to run to synths? The Live arp is kind of boring.. I mean only 8 steps..??

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Re: step sequencer or arpegiator plug in

Post by sweetjesus » Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:23 pm

aniajudie wrote:anyone know of a cool step seq plug in to run to synths? The Live arp is kind of boring.. I mean only 8 steps..??
have u tried adjusting the parameter to ... '16'!!!! ? :P

edit: but yes i agree a proper step sequencer device would rock live

thefool
Posts: 1848
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:29 pm

Re: step sequencer or arpegiator plug in

Post by thefool » Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:32 pm

sweetjesus wrote:
aniajudie wrote:anyone know of a cool step seq plug in to run to synths? The Live arp is kind of boring.. I mean only 8 steps..??
have u tried adjusting the parameter to ... '16'!!!! ? :P

edit: but yes i agree a proper step sequencer device would rock live
I like the one in reason btw

mike holiday
Posts: 2433
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:52 pm
Location: NOW

Post by mike holiday » Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:42 pm

I like the one I use with my padKONTROL
dual 1.8 G4 10.4.9 w/768 ram & A&H xone 3D


"I ain't often right but I've never been wrong"

Motion
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 7:24 pm

Post by Motion » Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:18 pm

Hi

ERA from Sugarbytes + also Effectrix coming up in Feb...ERA is however only for PC.

http://www.sugar-bytes.de/content/produ ... hp?lang=en

regards

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:50 pm

*cough*maxmsp*cough*

Seriously though, we thought the same thing, I do believe I was the first to ever show a step sequencer made entirely with Live (4 I believe).

Hoffman2k came up with the first rack-based version, and it can be acquired here, it's quite insane:

http://www.thecovertoperators.org/archives/205

aniajudie
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:52 am

Re: step sequencer or arpegiator plug in

Post by aniajudie » Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:57 pm

sweetjesus wrote:
aniajudie wrote:anyone know of a cool step seq plug in to run to synths? The Live arp is kind of boring.. I mean only 8 steps..??
have u tried adjusting the parameter to ... '16'!!!! ? :P

edit: but yes i agree a proper step sequencer device would rock live
I do not see how to pass 8 steps, I cannot go any further??

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Re: step sequencer or arpegiator plug in

Post by sweetjesus » Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:29 pm

aniajudie wrote:
sweetjesus wrote:
aniajudie wrote:anyone know of a cool step seq plug in to run to synths? The Live arp is kind of boring.. I mean only 8 steps..??
have u tried adjusting the parameter to ... '16'!!!! ? :P

edit: but yes i agree a proper step sequencer device would rock live
I do not see how to pass 8 steps, I cannot go any further??
turn the rate knob from 1/8 down to 1/6

aniajudie
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:52 am

Post by aniajudie » Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:49 pm

I will try..what about to adjust the value of pitch for each note so can make my own patterns?
Thanks

aniajudie
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:52 am

Post by aniajudie » Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:53 pm

I changed it to 1/6th..just slower speed but still 8 notes and can choose only 8 notes.

Bagatell
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Sierra Nevada, Spain

Post by Bagatell » Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:54 pm

+1 for Sugarbytes ERA2.

noatikl is fun too.

thefool
Posts: 1848
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:29 pm

Post by thefool » Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:03 pm

The ERA2 looks fine but how am i supposed to route this thing for use in live?

Maybe i'm just tired :)

Clearscreen
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 5:07 am
Location: Melbourne AU
Contact:

Post by Clearscreen » Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:48 am

maybe try stepbeater http://users.frii.com/saffleck/stepbeater.html
or it's 'daddy' stepchild (if you can find it...)
Hp Elitebook 2.8Ghz. Live 7.0.14 & Live 8.1.5, XP Pro. and stuff...

thefool
Posts: 1848
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:29 pm

Post by thefool » Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:26 pm

Nobody knows? Damnit!

now you're reading this: what is the kb shortcut for the stop-button so i can push it twice to reset it?

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by Johnisfaster » Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:35 pm

Machinate wrote:*cough*maxmsp*cough*

Seriously though, we thought the same thing, I do believe I was the first to ever show a step sequencer made entirely with Live (4 I believe).

Hoffman2k came up with the first rack-based version, and it can be acquired here, it's quite insane:

http://www.thecovertoperators.org/archives/205
personally I think I came up with the first rack step sequencer when we were still beta testing the new racks but hoffman shared his :roll:
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

Post Reply