NEW Vestax VCM 600 Midi Controller perfect for Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
kirillov
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:01 pm

Post by kirillov » Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:56 am

maomao wrote:
kirillov wrote:its dangerous because if the connection drops you have to restart live
get a Mac :o
I thought its more live's fault? can you run live, unplug and replug the USB cable of your controller and continue remote controll live on the fly?

Schuft
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 8:02 am

Post by Schuft » Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:19 pm

maomao wrote:
kirillov wrote:its dangerous because if the connection drops you have to restart live
get a Mac :o
or do it like PVD -> http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r194 ... ime232.jpg

SonarScope
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:03 pm
Location: Croatia
Contact:

3 led on Vestax vcm 600 ?

Post by SonarScope » Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:25 pm

Hi,

on VCM600 on each chanal just right from a start button are 3 led-s ?

i cant figure out what this 3 led are doing ?

just middle led is illuminates and i did not menage till now get other 2 get on

anybody ?

thanx

emil

Schuft
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 8:02 am

Re: 3 led on Vestax vcm 600 ?

Post by Schuft » Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:57 pm

SonarScope wrote:...
i cant figure out what this 3 led are doing ? ...
They are relevant if you use the channel faders for Track 7-12 via the TrackBank function.
The faders aren't motorized. So when you push the TrackBank button to switch between Tracks 1-6 and 7-12 the orange LEDs (above and beneath the green LED) indicate if you have to move the fader up or down to go to the value/position of the fader like it was before you switched the bank.

Uhh, I hope you get it. You sound like like you own a VCM-600. If so then you could also take a look into your manual at page 24, point 17) Mode Select Switch !!

[edit] In other words, just move the fader of e.g. Track 1 and afterwards push the TrackBank button (upper right on the VCM). Then you'll see that one orange LED is lit.

SonarScope
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:03 pm
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: 3 led on Vestax vcm 600 ?

Post by SonarScope » Tue Jan 27, 2009 4:53 pm

Schuft wrote:
SonarScope wrote:...
i cant figure out what this 3 led are doing ? ...
They are relevant if you use the channel faders for Track 7-12 via the TrackBank function.
The faders aren't motorized. So when you push the TrackBank button to switch between Tracks 1-6 and 7-12 the orange LEDs (above and beneath the green LED) indicate if you have to move the fader up or down to go to the value/position of the fader like it was before you switched the bank.

Uhh, I hope you get it. You sound like like you own a VCM-600. If so then you could also take a look into your manual at page 24, point 17) Mode Select Switch !!

[edit] In other words, just move the fader of e.g. Track 1 and afterwards push the TrackBank button (upper right on the VCM). Then you'll see that one orange LED is lit.
i get it
i never use more then 6 tracks with vcm600 so i never get to point 17 :-)

i tray when i get 600 just ones tracks 7 - 12 to see how is working and after i check more dj setup so no more then 4 tracks

thanx alot for help

emil

Mike Goodwin
Posts: 1119
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:29 pm
Location: Toronto Can.
Contact:

Post by Mike Goodwin » Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:54 pm

So I was walking by a local shop and there it was in the window. And I could buy it for $1050. Is it just me or is that a little high? I can buy two second mackie controllers in my city for that much cash.

Green Lemon
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:20 pm

Post by Green Lemon » Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:01 pm

That is stupidly expensive.
--
first 1k as chrysalis33rpm.

maomao
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by maomao » Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:29 pm

Mike Goodwin wrote:So I was walking by a local shop and there it was in the window. And I could buy it for $1050
don't go to this shop then!

http://www.google.com/products?q=vcm+600+vestax

$899..
http://www.soundcloud.com/maomao

"one good thing about music is when it hits you feel no pain"

Mike Goodwin
Posts: 1119
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:29 pm
Location: Toronto Can.
Contact:

Post by Mike Goodwin » Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:11 pm

maomao wrote:
Mike Goodwin wrote:So I was walking by a local shop and there it was in the window. And I could buy it for $1050
don't go to this shop then!

http://www.google.com/products?q=vcm+600+vestax

$899..
That is what I was expecting. That is still pricy but if it is built well I can understand it.

Green Lemon
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:20 pm

Post by Green Lemon » Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:22 pm

More than twice the APC?! Get real.
--
first 1k as chrysalis33rpm.

Proof
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 7:22 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: NEW Vestax VCM 600 Midi Controller perfect for Live

Post by Proof » Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:34 am

This may interest you guys - I just did a video review..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W496YMopmxI
http://www.technicalsessions.com - Video Interviews of NZ's top Producers and DJs
http://www.bromidedub.com - Bromide Dub's Artist Page
Live PA - Ableton, VCM600, APC40, Nord Lead 2, DSI Evolver, Access Virus B, MachineDrum and more..

Green Lemon
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:20 pm

Re: NEW Vestax VCM 600 Midi Controller perfect for Live

Post by Green Lemon » Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:28 am

Great review!

I like it better now; will have to wait for the price to drop though.
--
first 1k as chrysalis33rpm.

djd_oz
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:19 am
Contact:

Re: NEW Vestax VCM 600 Midi Controller perfect for Live

Post by djd_oz » Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:52 am

So, does this thing come with a template or doesn't anyone out there has a good template they can share?

Moody
Posts: 2115
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:47 pm

Re: NEW Vestax VCM 600 Midi Controller perfect for Live

Post by Moody » Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:21 pm

djd_oz wrote:So, does this thing come with a template or doesn't anyone out there has a good template they can share?
The site says it comes with a custom version of Live. So, I am guessing there is some kind of template or templates available.
Ableton’s engineers are hard
at work developing code that will allow our software to predict the future, but we don’t
anticipate having this available until at least the next major release.

Proof
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 7:22 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: NEW Vestax VCM 600 Midi Controller perfect for Live

Post by Proof » Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:11 pm

Probably.

But why would you want someone else telling you how to use it?

Starting from scratch means,

1. You learn more about the equipment you use
2. You start thinking, if I could program it however I want, what would I want it to do?

I dont have a use for a pan, nor a 'middle' or kills for that matter, so why would I waste controls on them? I am having a custom blank faceplate made up for me, so I can label it how I want.

Its just a midi controller, after all. It can do what ever you want...

:wink: :D
http://www.technicalsessions.com - Video Interviews of NZ's top Producers and DJs
http://www.bromidedub.com - Bromide Dub's Artist Page
Live PA - Ableton, VCM600, APC40, Nord Lead 2, DSI Evolver, Access Virus B, MachineDrum and more..

Post Reply