UC33e - What number is the Ableton preset ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
jimmynitcher
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:30 pm
Location: UK

UC33e - What number is the Ableton preset ?

Post by jimmynitcher » Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:33 pm

Hi

I can't believe I can't find it, everyone mentions the preset but I can't find it listed in Enigma (or the manual).

Please someone put me out of my misery, it's bound to be something really obvious.

ta

j

substance_g
Posts: 486
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by substance_g » Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:18 pm

21

The information is really buried away and not in any printed or pdf manuals. Here's a link though: http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=evolution.live

Edit: The link contains further links to download the mac/pc preset files that you'll need.
MBP-Live7-Oxygen8-Ultralite-UC33e-WaldorfPulse

jimmynitcher
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:30 pm
Location: UK

Post by jimmynitcher » Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:34 am

So, not obvious after all - I guess that should be evolution's responsibility, bizarre, don't they want to sell more units?

That has saved me a lot of fannying about, thanks very much!
j
:D

Seyser Koze
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:18 pm

Post by Seyser Koze » Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:25 am

I'm not sure, haven't looked into it personally, but I hear that UC33e might not be available for much longer anyway...like gold dust they'll be. :D

Anyway, back to original point:

If you use your UC33e in a template i find it is just as easy to manually map the UC to Live and then save the set as template.

This saves all the settings and whenever you load up, the UC33e responds as before.

no hassle, no presets, no sodding enigma, just set up the way you want it...

jimmynitcher
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:30 pm
Location: UK

Post by jimmynitcher » Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 am

I'm really just curious to see all the possibilities

I know what you mean, enigma's not all that is it?

How do you use your buttons? if you want all the buttons to send note messages you have to go through a whole rigmarole, I guess you only have to do it once...

choci
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 2:08 pm
Location: Leeds Uk
Contact:

Thanks!!

Post by choci » Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:55 am

For that info guys, I have been wanting these templates for ages :)

nice one :D

substance_g
Posts: 486
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by substance_g » Thu Jan 24, 2008 11:28 am

Seyser Koze wrote:I'm not sure, haven't looked into it personally, but I hear that UC33e might not be available for much longer anyway...like gold dust they'll be.
Indeed, it's not on the product section of m-audio.com, though it's still on the non-US sites, so looks like your rumour may be right... :?
MBP-Live7-Oxygen8-Ultralite-UC33e-WaldorfPulse

Seyser Koze
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:18 pm

Post by Seyser Koze » Thu Jan 24, 2008 11:42 am

The process for turning your buttons into on/off is pretty well documented on the net, just a process you have to do.

I think they're gonna regret not keeping the UC33e on, for the money and for the amount of faders and rotaries, it really is a great little bit of kit.

Buy as many as you can now and then wack them on ebay in a years time! :D

substance_g
Posts: 486
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by substance_g » Thu Jan 24, 2008 11:46 am

jimmynitcher wrote:How do you use your buttons? if you want all the buttons to send note messages you have to go through a whole rigmarole, I guess you only have to do it once...
Some of the buttons you can't map to Live, I don't think (e.g. the ones labelled as - and +). 0-9 and the transport buttons are recognised by Live no problem.
MBP-Live7-Oxygen8-Ultralite-UC33e-WaldorfPulse

mosca
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 2:16 pm

Post by mosca » Thu Jan 24, 2008 11:50 am

do you not think that if they get rid of the UC33e they'll bring out a replacement that's even better?

so by all means wait a year and put your UC on ebay and sell it for £30 because everyone wnats the new one.

Seyser Koze
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:18 pm

Post by Seyser Koze » Thu Jan 24, 2008 11:54 am

It's a fair point, but the UC33e is such a lil gem for the money I think it'll always have a following.

A cheap lightweight bit of kit that has become a cult classic....I like that. :D

jimmynitcher
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:30 pm
Location: UK

Post by jimmynitcher » Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:59 pm

Well I'm really confused now - preset 21 won't send midi I select it move fadres and dials, nothing, but other presets will, so even if I wanted to use it I couldn't.

Is that possible ?

Guess that means I will set up my own, but I'd like to know what's going on.

Is there a usergroup?

thanks

jimmynitcher
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:30 pm
Location: UK

Post by jimmynitcher » Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:11 pm

OK I found an Enigma one at Yahoo.

..aaand I see my presets have their cc's set to off, could it be my box is pre-the Live preset?

Post Reply