Changing the start point of a track whilst its playing

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Gravis
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:47 am

Changing the start point of a track whilst its playing

Post by Gravis » Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:09 am

Firstly, i searched, and i've asked others and no answer, so here goes.

What I want to do
I would like to be able to play a track in Ableton, then say that track is halfway through, i would like to be able to change the start point of the track, to say the end of a break down, and then launch the clip from that new start point.

The problem
When i move the start point, the track that is currently playing skips forward by the amount i move the start point!

I don't want the track that's playing to change at all :(

This seems like a REALLY REALLY dumb way to set up clips/tracks, is there no option to disable this feature?

Surely someone has gotten around this somehow???

Thanks in advance!
iMac G5 2.16 | Echo AudioFire12 | Xone 92 | Live 8 + M4L | Trigger Finger | Monome 256 | Kenton Killamix Mini | Truth 3031A

the ar
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 11:42 am
Location: Outer Space

Post by the ar » Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:10 am

Duplicate the clip on the fly, change/set your start/loop points and trigger.

Gravis
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:47 am

Post by Gravis » Sat Feb 02, 2008 5:49 am

Yeah i was looking to avoid that if possible, but yeah, thats how i htink i'd have to do it atm.
iMac G5 2.16 | Echo AudioFire12 | Xone 92 | Live 8 + M4L | Trigger Finger | Monome 256 | Kenton Killamix Mini | Truth 3031A

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:42 pm

If you can use Arrange view, then you also have triggerable locators to work with.

You could also retrigger the clip with the speaker icon in the clip view waveform detail. I think that follows quantization (?)

Post Reply