how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
e.maynard
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 6:07 pm
Location: Afton, Virginia
Contact:

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by e.maynard » Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:08 pm

Hi AM!


Wow, Thanks a lot!
I'd love to have:
1. Drum Rack scene with pads mapping as they should with drum rack, with faders as they are and 8 rotaries controlling devices
2. Impulse scene pads controlling the 8 Impulse pads, otherwise same as abpve
3. Mixing Scene with rotaries as pans, faders as well... faders and the ability to bank to the next 8 faders as well.

Name your price. PayPal.

ashtonron
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: Oslo

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by ashtonron » Thu Jun 04, 2009 7:59 am

e.maynard wrote:Hi AM!


Wow, Thanks a lot!
I'd love to have:
1. Drum Rack scene with pads mapping as they should with drum rack, with faders as they are and 8 rotaries controlling devices
2. Impulse scene pads controlling the 8 Impulse pads, otherwise same as abpve
3. Mixing Scene with rotaries as pans, faders as well... faders and the ability to bank to the next 8 faders as well.

Name your price. PayPal.
regarding lc xmu http://www.opuslocus.com/lcxmu

1. I havent been able to get the pads mapping to drum racks when using LC XMU... But you get the faders and device control
2. Havent triesd this
3. You get this with lc xmu...

Mackie control on the micro kontrol is more focused for studio work rather than live work... as you need to do several key presses to select devices etc.. I beilieve there is a demo which just ignores midi every now and again.. so you can try it out and see if it helps things...
Ableton Suite 8, Komplete 6, Macbook + IMac, Nuforce Icon HDP, Art tubefire 8, Korg MicroKontrol + wacKMK, Oxygen 8 +++
http://soundcloud.com/ashtonron

Winterpark
Posts: 1671
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by Winterpark » Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:58 am

hey... i had another go...

struggling a bit with pans... if anyone has the cc number for automapping, let me know.

but here it is in the meantime...

MK automap template

scene 1:
pads=drum racks
sliders=channel volumes 1-8
encoders=macros

scene 2:
pads=impulse kit
sliders=channel volumes 1-8
encoders=macros

the other scenes are copies, that map the pads to different notes.

enjoy!

and feel free to listen/buy my music on itunes or bandcamp
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

Winterpark
Posts: 1671
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by Winterpark » Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:02 am

ps... havn't tried that lc xmu thing.

i should have a look at it.... although i primarily use my MK for the sliders for volumes, and drum racks... so my template works for me.
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

e.maynard
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 6:07 pm
Location: Afton, Virginia
Contact:

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by e.maynard » Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:20 pm

Hey am....
Thanks so much.

I'll give it a go very soon.
My problem is definitely in the midi ins & outs set up.

I've tried a few variations, but I have different options than your .png photo shows.
Whew.

johnpitcairn
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:49 am
Contact:

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by johnpitcairn » Fri Jun 05, 2009 1:08 am

ashtonron wrote:1. I havent been able to get the pads mapping to drum racks when using LC XMU... But you get the faders and device control
What happens when you bypass just the pads (modifier + bypass CCs in LC Xmu)?

Are the notes that get sent (MPC preset 1) not getting to the drum racks? Is the LC Xmu passthrough port enabled as a normal MIDI input in Live?

Or are the notes sent not what the racks expect? If so, and you can't change the mapping in Live, you can change what LC Xmu sends by editing the LC Xmu controller prefs file (see the LC Xmu manual, page 149).
LC Xmu Logic/Mackie Control emulation, LC Xview software LC/MC display,
Logic environments & stuff: http://www.opuslocus.com

ashtonron
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: Oslo

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by ashtonron » Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:12 am

johnpitcairn wrote:
ashtonron wrote:1. I havent been able to get the pads mapping to drum racks when using LC XMU... But you get the faders and device control
What happens when you bypass just the pads (modifier + bypass CCs in LC Xmu)?

Are the notes that get sent (MPC preset 1) not getting to the drum racks? Is the LC Xmu passthrough port enabled as a normal MIDI input in Live?

Or are the notes sent not what the racks expect? If so, and you can't change the mapping in Live, you can change what LC Xmu sends by editing the LC Xmu controller prefs file (see the LC Xmu manual, page 149).
You are able to control the pads in bypass mode, i.e. the notes that get sent are received by the drum racks... but they dont automap to the pads currently being viewed (like they do when using the microkontrol as a native controller). I think this is because the midi is coming through the LC Xmu passthrough port which is not configured to be microkontrol specific... It is possible to set up several scenes for the different pad groups as a workaround though. It would be nice if this would work in by pass mode though, but not sure it is possible with the current architecture..

cheers
Ableton Suite 8, Komplete 6, Macbook + IMac, Nuforce Icon HDP, Art tubefire 8, Korg MicroKontrol + wacKMK, Oxygen 8 +++
http://soundcloud.com/ashtonron

fishmonkey
Posts: 4187
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by fishmonkey » Fri Jun 05, 2009 8:54 am

ashtonron wrote:
johnpitcairn wrote:
ashtonron wrote:1. I havent been able to get the pads mapping to drum racks when using LC XMU... But you get the faders and device control
What happens when you bypass just the pads (modifier + bypass CCs in LC Xmu)?

Are the notes that get sent (MPC preset 1) not getting to the drum racks? Is the LC Xmu passthrough port enabled as a normal MIDI input in Live?

Or are the notes sent not what the racks expect? If so, and you can't change the mapping in Live, you can change what LC Xmu sends by editing the LC Xmu controller prefs file (see the LC Xmu manual, page 149).
You are able to control the pads in bypass mode, i.e. the notes that get sent are received by the drum racks... but they dont automap to the pads currently being viewed (like they do when using the microkontrol as a native controller). I think this is because the midi is coming through the LC Xmu passthrough port which is not configured to be microkontrol specific... It is possible to set up several scenes for the different pad groups as a workaround though. It would be nice if this would work in by pass mode though, but not sure it is possible with the current architecture..

cheers
hey there...

actually, in principle you can use the native control surface support at the same time... you just need to set it up right, and use the LC Xmu pass through port as the incoming port for the native control surface...

i haven't done it with a microKontrol, but i've done it with other controllers, so i don't see why it wouldn't work...

ashtonron
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: Oslo

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by ashtonron » Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:13 am

fishmonkey wrote: hey there...

actually, in principle you can use the native control surface support at the same time... you just need to set it up right, and use the LC Xmu pass through port as the incoming port for the native control surface...

i haven't done it with a microKontrol, but i've done it with other controllers, so i don't see why it wouldn't work...
ahh cool... will look into that tonight :)
Ableton Suite 8, Komplete 6, Macbook + IMac, Nuforce Icon HDP, Art tubefire 8, Korg MicroKontrol + wacKMK, Oxygen 8 +++
http://soundcloud.com/ashtonron

ashtonron
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: Oslo

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by ashtonron » Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:03 pm

fishmonkey wrote: actually, in principle you can use the native control surface support at the same time... you just need to set it up right, and use the LC Xmu pass through port as the incoming port for the native control surface...

i haven't done it with a microKontrol, but i've done it with other controllers, so i don't see why it wouldn't work...
That works really nicely thanks for making me check it out... Just getting my head round what this means now :) the possibilities!

So this means it is possible to get the auto mapping of drum pads based on what is selected in the window, whilst running LC Xmu (in bypass mode)
Ableton Suite 8, Komplete 6, Macbook + IMac, Nuforce Icon HDP, Art tubefire 8, Korg MicroKontrol + wacKMK, Oxygen 8 +++
http://soundcloud.com/ashtonron

fishmonkey
Posts: 4187
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by fishmonkey » Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:52 pm

yep, it also means you can use Mackie Control commands and have the blue hand macro mapping at the same time too... very handy...

johnpitcairn
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:49 am
Contact:

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by johnpitcairn » Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:27 pm

ashtonron wrote:I think this is because the midi is coming through the LC Xmu passthrough port which is not configured to be microkontrol specific...
What happens if you specify the LC Xmu passthrough port as a microKONTROL under controllers? I don't think Live tries to use Native Korg mode, does it? Does Live just expect the "supported" MK to be using a specific MK scene?

If so, you could map the LC Xmu passthrough output to those notes. You wouldn't get feedback to the LEDs, because LC Xmu passthrough is one-way.
LC Xmu Logic/Mackie Control emulation, LC Xview software LC/MC display,
Logic environments & stuff: http://www.opuslocus.com

johnpitcairn
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:49 am
Contact:

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by johnpitcairn » Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:28 pm

Oops, just realized fishmonkey got there first. Thanks.
LC Xmu Logic/Mackie Control emulation, LC Xview software LC/MC display,
Logic environments & stuff: http://www.opuslocus.com

ashtonron
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: Oslo

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by ashtonron » Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:59 am

johnpitcairn wrote:Oops, just realized fishmonkey got there first. Thanks.
Yup all is working now, thanks for the help!
Ableton Suite 8, Komplete 6, Macbook + IMac, Nuforce Icon HDP, Art tubefire 8, Korg MicroKontrol + wacKMK, Oxygen 8 +++
http://soundcloud.com/ashtonron

Richard Ellis
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:27 am

Re: how to setup microkontrol as natively supported controller?

Post by Richard Ellis » Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:51 am

Hi Guys,

I've been having a difficult time getting the microkontrol to work effectively with Ableton.

I posted a poll http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=119358to ask the Ableton Developers to implement Propellerheads ReMote MIDI mapping technology (which they license FOR FREE)

This is what I wrote in that post:
Hi Guys,

I've spent the last 12 hours trying to get my new Korg Microkontrol to 'behave' with Ableton.

To give some contrast, I opened up my copy of Reason, and everything just worked with ZERO configuration. It was dynamically and intelligently mapped.
Can you guys please vote for this.

Or tell me what I can do to get this to work effectively?
Richard

Macbook Core 2 Duo 2Ghz
2Gb RAM
OSX 10.6.2
Ableton Live Suite 8
Reason 4
Logic 9

Genelec 8020s
Technics 1210's
Ecler Nuo 4
NI A8DJ
VCI-100

Post Reply