Can you make a blank audio clip?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
nessiecansado
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:21 pm

Can you make a blank audio clip?

Post by nessiecansado » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:13 pm

Hi,

How can I take a clip and add blank space in front of it?

Let's say I have a 30 second audio clip, but I need to add 30 seconds of silence in front of it so that it plays in time when I launch a scene in session view...what is the easiest way to do that?

for example.
I am in session view and I have 2 clips that I want to play in sync the same way they had in the arrangement view.

Clip 1 is 1 minute long
Clip 2 is the 30 seconds long but should start until 30 seconds into clip 1

How can I make the shorter clip play at the right time?

Thanks

DJ VAKIS
Posts: 2084
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 7:26 am
Location: MUNICH-GERMANY
Contact:

Post by DJ VAKIS » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:38 pm

One way is to use follow actions.Make a blank clip and the next clip will be your audio clip.
http://www.myspace.com/djvakis
http://mix2r.fm/audio/user/221


----------------------------------------
MacBookPro 13" Core 2 Duo 2.26Ghz 2GB
Live 8 -Operator -Sampler
AKAI LPD8-GENELEC 1029A-iPhone runing TouchOSC.

Warminstrel
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:40 am
Location: Bristol, South West, UK
Contact:

Post by Warminstrel » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:43 pm

Drop your loop into arrangement view.

duplicate it.

highlight both clips and consolidate them.

double click new loop.

change loop end markers and enable the loop button.

hot the volume button and adjust the automation to create hale a loop of silence.

Job done.

The ability to consolidate audio clips in arrangement view, combined with 'ctrl-e' to cut the clips can make for quick editing of audio clips. You can also pick up a highlighted section of a piece of audio and cut/paste/drop it anywhere (that’s not midi obviously)

If you find any clicks n stuff when you edit a sample make sure to magnify the wav and ensure that the end markers are at zero crossover at any changes or loop starts/ends.

N.B: Sound engineers and well educated producers that know everything there is to know about the right way to make tunes may well recommend using a pukka audio editor such as 'wave lab' or the free 'audacity' for more precise editing.

I go for the 'Use Live like the bitch she is' method

blank
Posts: 1512
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Montreal

Post by blank » Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:45 pm

Warminstrel wrote:Drop your loop into arrangement view.

duplicate it.

highlight both clips and consolidate them.

double click new loop.

change loop end markers and enable the loop button.

hot the volume button and adjust the automation to create hale a loop of silence.

Job done.

The ability to consolidate audio clips in arrangement view, combined with 'ctrl-e' to cut the clips can make for quick editing of audio clips. You can also pick up a highlighted section of a piece of audio and cut/paste/drop it anywhere (that’s not midi obviously)

If you find any clicks n stuff when you edit a sample make sure to magnify the wav and ensure that the end markers are at zero crossover at any changes or loop starts/ends.

N.B: Sound engineers and well educated producers that know everything there is to know about the right way to make tunes may well recommend using a pukka audio editor such as 'wave lab' or the free 'audacity' for more precise editing.

I go for the 'Use Live like the bitch she is' method
This method works well most of the time. I rarely use wavelab since I'm working that way.
feug.net -:- virb.com/feug

Homebelly
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Aotearoa New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Homebelly » Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:49 pm

All of these methods would work,,
but the simplest way would be to put the clip on an audio track
open the clip and select the envelope edit window.
deselect the link button and extend the loop bracket out as far as you need to go.
Set the volume envelop so there is silence after the pint where the audio finnishes.
move the clip start indicator to where you have set the volume envelop to start muting.
Hit the play button in the clip and the clip will start from the clip start point and then loop through the clip from there,,
15" 2.4 MBP/Live/Sampler/Operator/ Home made Dumble clone/Two Strats/One Jazz Bass.
Come and visit any time= Soundcloud

DJ VAKIS
Posts: 2084
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 7:26 am
Location: MUNICH-GERMANY
Contact:

Post by DJ VAKIS » Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:58 pm

This is Live,you can do one thing in many ways.
I love Live.
http://www.myspace.com/djvakis
http://mix2r.fm/audio/user/221


----------------------------------------
MacBookPro 13" Core 2 Duo 2.26Ghz 2GB
Live 8 -Operator -Sampler
AKAI LPD8-GENELEC 1029A-iPhone runing TouchOSC.

Tone Deft
Posts: 24068
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:23 pm

what a 'tard that TD guy is. :roll:
Last edited by Tone Deft on Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

Tone Deft
Posts: 24068
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:23 pm

session view - select a few frames of nothing - consolidate - BAM, an empty clip (this is untested, should work)

I usually just take a short clip I'm already using and turn the volume to ZERO.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

Oscard
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 8:20 pm

Re: Can you make a blank audio clip?

Post by Oscard » Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:14 pm

Ableton Library --> Samples --> Components --> Utility --> "Silent".

Mark the "Warp" and "Loop" buttons and to extent, adjust the "loop length" or put a negative value in "Start".

Angstrom
Posts: 14714
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Can you make a blank audio clip?

Post by Angstrom » Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:22 pm

Hmmm. Necrobump.

Since L8 you can extend start markers before the recorded wav
No longer any need for devices or envelope trickery.

icedsushi
Posts: 1652
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:36 pm

Re: Can you make a blank audio clip?

Post by icedsushi » Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:30 pm

I noticed this too, I'm glad it was added, been wanting to move the start point before the start of the audio file for a long time now.

Is there any way to do this with warping off? I've tried a bunch of modifier keys while dragging & it only seems to work with warp turned on.

Post Reply