How to avoid loading samples in itunes?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Jeroen
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: Sarawak, Malaysia

How to avoid loading samples in itunes?

Post by Jeroen » Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:31 pm

Hi,

I am on Mac OSX, certainly no expert. When I accidently click on any sound sample it loads intro itunes. How can I avoid this annoying default behavior?

If I want to listen to loops or single hits I do not want to disturb my itunes folders and files ....
Life is made of stories not atoms

Tarekith
Posts: 17579
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:45 pm

That's the default OSX app to open any audio file. Is there another app you want to use? If you right click on the file and choose "Get Info", you'll see a field for selecting what app you want ot use to open those types of files (wav, mp3, etc). Choose a new one, and then check the box to apply it to all files of that type.

Jeroen
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: Sarawak, Malaysia

Post by Jeroen » Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:36 pm

Great works! I tried "Open with ..." but that did not have the option to "Change all"

I am using audio ease Snapper demo today and really like that so I might purchase that one. Quick viewing is great to scan a lot of files.

Thanks Tarekith!
Life is made of stories not atoms

zebastian21
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: New York City

Post by zebastian21 » Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:40 pm

Tarekith wrote:That's the default OSX app to open any audio file. Is there another app you want to use? If you right click on the file and choose "Get Info", you'll see a field for selecting what app you want ot use to open those types of files (wav, mp3, etc). Choose a new one, and then check the box to apply it to all files of that type.

thats the way to do it, I would recommend using quicktime as chosen app.
stop talking.....start working...:)
Macbook pro. Logic pro/Live. Access Virus Ti. Genelec 8040. my bread and butter :)

Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Fri Mar 14, 2008 5:05 pm

Being a switcher. A Mac noob. Please help me out here...

I've set VLC to be the prefered app for mp3s. But when I click to download/stream an mp3. The quicktime plug opens in Firefox. In the same window, which means I can't continue surfing with the music playing in the background. Bummer.

Any ideas?

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Fri Mar 14, 2008 5:30 pm

on windows, browser behavior is separate from general application behavior, i.e. you need to tell the browser what to do with the files which come in over the net

probably the same scenario on mac

?

Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Fri Mar 14, 2008 5:36 pm

longjohns wrote:on windows, browser behavior is separate from general application behavior, i.e. you need to tell the browser what to do with the files which come in over the net

probably the same scenario on mac

?
Yeah... There's some setting in Firefox. But mp3s doesn't show in that list. :? So I can't change from Quicktime to VLC.

Tarekith
Posts: 17579
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Fri Mar 14, 2008 5:48 pm

I think that's a limitation of the broswer and not an OSX issue.

Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Fri Mar 14, 2008 5:54 pm

Tarekith wrote:I think that's a limitation of the broswer and not an OSX issue.
Hmmm. That's a let-down.

Thanks for helping me out, Longjohns and Tarekith.

fatrabbit
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Bath, UK

Post by fatrabbit » Fri Mar 14, 2008 6:43 pm

Either open with Quicktime or use a third-party program called Snapper.

interceptor
Posts: 413
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:26 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by interceptor » Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:52 am

You could use quicklook to listen to samples. Thats what im using and it works great. Just press space instead of double clicking the file and a little player shows up.

hambone1
Posts: 5346
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Post by hambone1 » Sat Mar 15, 2008 9:21 am

I drag from iTunes to Live when DJing. Accidentally double-clicking in iTunes plays the track... not good!

I just turned down the iTunes volume in case I accidentally double-clicked.

Post Reply