Audio Preferences - Buffer Size

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
catch22
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:37 pm
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Audio Preferences - Buffer Size

Post by catch22 » Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:13 pm

How do I determine the correct Buffer Size to use in the Preferences under the Audio tab? At the moment I have it set to 379 but this was just a guess.
Is there are more accurate way to work out what this should be set to?
Thanks

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Post by beats me » Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:31 pm

Although not techinical here's what I honestly do. If it sounds fine and works well then leave it alone. When you start getting glitches or drop out then start adjusting it back and forth until it stops. This can also cause latency but glitching and drop outs is a bigger problem.

The buffer size depends on a lot of things on your system and the number of tracks and plugins you have going on so there really is no correct answer.

yogz
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:58 am
Location: Paris

Post by yogz » Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:51 pm

there is a lesson in the help menu that deals on how to find the correct value
Live 7.0.14
Mac osX 10.5.6 ;

Tone Deft
Posts: 24153
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:10 pm

here's a generic post I made about this issue. it's focused on latency but that applies to buffer size. this should help you understand why.
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 669#645669

basically if it pops and clicks, turn up the buffer a bit until it stops. load a large Live set and play around with it.

hunting down the best drivers for your sound card is critical, I'm a big fan of ASIO4ALL (PC only).

YMMV, this is just something to need to practice with over the years.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

Post Reply