Anybody want to make me a BPM Indicator Plug in ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
chrisedmo
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:55 pm
Location: Jersey, C.I.
Contact:

Anybody want to make me a BPM Indicator Plug in ?

Post by chrisedmo » Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:42 am

Does anybody have the skills to make a BPM indicator plugin that basically will flash at the host tempo and display it in writing as well as the time sig ? and thats it.

Our drummer would like something like this, we're trying something with InTime and Live and stuff, I think he'd like to try not wearing headphones, so we'd like to try some kind of visual indicator ?

Both on Macs as well...

Anybody wanna make a little money ?
Macbook 1.83ghz. Ableton Live 8 :-). Guitars and keys and retro sh*t.
http://www.myspace.com/banquetmusic

chrisedmo
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:55 pm
Location: Jersey, C.I.
Contact:

Post by chrisedmo » Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:15 am

I just edited this and it didn't move forward, so im bumping... anybody interested ?
Macbook 1.83ghz. Ableton Live 8 :-). Guitars and keys and retro sh*t.
http://www.myspace.com/banquetmusic

see the light
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 1:55 pm
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Post by see the light » Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:51 am

Yeah...this is something i'd like as well! A visual metronome with bpm counter...
www.soundcloud.com/passerines

Audio Fuck Jiggery since 2005

4.33
Posts: 1198
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Moscow

Post by 4.33 » Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:56 am

i've seen a free one online a while ago
but i dont remember where, quite possibly on smartelectonix website

google it, it's there somewhere

xzusa8ky
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 6:48 pm
Location: Vienna

Post by xzusa8ky » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:06 pm

if you own live you got a beatcounter!

Just use live the right way and live will give you all the BPM's you need.


So simple is that! :D
Bitwig/1.0.5 - Ableton/Live 8 - Apple/MacPro-2.8Ghz-8Core-RAID - Samsung/SM-P2770H 27" - Yamaha/HS80M/HS10W - Behringer/BCR/BCF - Allen & Heath/Xone:3D - Sennheiser/HD25-13 - Native Instruments/Komplete9/Traktor Pro

chrisedmo
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:55 pm
Location: Jersey, C.I.
Contact:

Post by chrisedmo » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:15 pm

xzusa8ky wrote:if you own live you got a beatcounter!

Just use live the right way and live will give you all the BPM's you need.


So simple is that! :D
I do own live 5/6/7 but my drummer needs like some kind of visual about 1/4 size of the screen to guide the tempo so he doesn't have to rely on headphones....

Unless you care to elaborate on how you would do this ?
Macbook 1.83ghz. Ableton Live 8 :-). Guitars and keys and retro sh*t.
http://www.myspace.com/banquetmusic

pulsoc
Posts: 2838
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Baltimore
Contact:

Post by pulsoc » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:26 pm

If you haven't, I stongly recommend posting this at the kvraudio forums as well

aeon
Posts: 227
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:26 pm
Contact:

Post by aeon » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:36 pm

could probably do something like this fairly easily

will check it out when i get home

[edit: displaying the BPM in writing is a touch more advanced... will see]
digitally yours

greg0ryk
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 9:31 am
Contact:

Spectrum

Post by greg0ryk » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:38 pm

I had an idea where you could put a click track on one of your tracks, put a spectrum on it (if you have live 7), and enlarge the spectrum to whatever size you need. This should be a workaround until something better comes along. There may be some other free analyzers out there that would do something similar.

Patch
Posts: 2614
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Post by Patch » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:44 pm

1) Turn on the metronome
2) Have it routed to an out that is not actually being used (so no metronome sound is audible).
3) Get one of those magnifyer apps
4) Hover over the metronome (Top left of the session screen)
5) BINGO! Visual representation of the tempo.

xzusa8ky
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 6:48 pm
Location: Vienna

Post by xzusa8ky » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:52 pm

8)
Bitwig/1.0.5 - Ableton/Live 8 - Apple/MacPro-2.8Ghz-8Core-RAID - Samsung/SM-P2770H 27" - Yamaha/HS80M/HS10W - Behringer/BCR/BCF - Allen & Heath/Xone:3D - Sennheiser/HD25-13 - Native Instruments/Komplete9/Traktor Pro

chrisedmo
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:55 pm
Location: Jersey, C.I.
Contact:

Post by chrisedmo » Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:10 pm

Thanks for all the help!

We have tried the magnifying trick but its not really practical as that laptop is being used to trigger clips and all sorts... but thanks.
Macbook 1.83ghz. Ableton Live 8 :-). Guitars and keys and retro sh*t.
http://www.myspace.com/banquetmusic

pulsoc
Posts: 2838
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Baltimore
Contact:

Post by pulsoc » Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:22 pm

You also could set up a Korg Padkontrol for the pads to light up in tempo.

Coupe70
Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 7:25 am
Location: Mainz / Germany
Contact:

Post by Coupe70 » Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:42 pm

we have some lights (midi -> dmx) running.
you can set up a midi track that lets a small lamp
flash in beat. LED is best because it has a fast
response and the 1 can have another color...
Phongemeinschaft (Live-ElectroJazz / NuJazz)
Homepage - youtube - Like! :-)
Live 9 (32Bit), HP DV7, i5 2,53GHz, 8 GB RAM, Win7 (64Bit)

Bisco
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 1:21 am
Location: Philadelphia

Post by Bisco » Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:05 pm

If you're using inTime, doesnt that have a BPM counter? I could swear it does.

Post Reply