Wtd. Ableton live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
sublimelobc
Posts: 407
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 7:30 pm
Location: St George, Utah
Contact:

Post by sublimelobc » Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:54 pm

Yeah, what's up with that Tone Deft guy...he must have just randomly wandered into the Live forum or something. OBVIOUSLY hasn't actually used Live much. Ah well, probably just a random guy with a single random response and we'll probably never hear from him again. ;)

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Post by Tone Deft » Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:11 pm

Bagle wrote:and the dude saying no pro uses ableton get logic..
your on an ableton forum, not a nice place to start..
i have ableton and logic 7, and the new 8
i hate logic, never use it, its horrible its old chunky, and there is nothing i can do on it that isnt easier in live,
look pal, I have the Live 4LE demo version and when I play 8kHz cell phone recordings over my Creative hi fi speakers my friends and I agree that Live sounds like crap. Logic sounds rad, even without my subwoofers, I make mad phat HiP HoP BEaTZZZ and hardcore trance.

the only reason artists get featured on this site is to they can get a free copy and some stickers to put on their laptops.
and studies have shown that all programs handle audio the same way
OK, that's just retarded. I made a special crown for you to wear after that statement. linkage or stfu.
dude by all means mock ableton, just dont do it here
we're on page 2, OK to do it here? please advise.

Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!! Live Sucks!!


I knew I should've stopped coming to this forum once the porn was being blocked. this is bullshit.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

Stace
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:23 am
Location: Isle of Yessir
Contact:

Post by Stace » Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:48 pm

I swear to the almighty !!!!!!!(whoever he/she is?)8O

Tone Deft you crack me up!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
"Never increase, beyond what is necessary, the number of entities required to explain anything" --- William of Ockham (1285-1349)

Bagle
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 7:45 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Bagle » Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:39 pm

wow congratulations you must be the dumbest f*** ever.

have you ever used live beyond your phone recordings?
and live 4LE?


nuff said
Anything at my disposal..
http://soundcloud.com/jagle

djfm
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 10:13 pm
Location: uk
Contact:

Post by djfm » Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:45 pm

ok now guys that enough were all friends here.
anyway i got myself a copy of ebay.
Just have to wait for mister postie.
http://www.myspace.com/projectf - Progressive
http://soundcloud.com/fproject
http://twitter.com/fproject1

Macbook 2.4 4GB/Live 7.15/massive/Absynth 4

Bagle
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 7:45 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Bagle » Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:16 pm

welcome in

do take time to learn ti more then this guy, itll save you having to go buy logic for no reason.

im not saying that ableton is the best, there are some features in logic i like, but as a whole live is nicer.

djfm
learn clip launching thats a very nice feature
that alot of people often over look
Anything at my disposal..
http://soundcloud.com/jagle

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Post by Tone Deft » Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:22 pm

you don't know what you're talking about!!

even after I dropped bucks on Monster Cable for my Creative Giga Works the Live 7 demo sounded like crap compared to sweet sweet Live 4LE. the highs were muddy, the lows were thin and the mids are off. why pay extra for 64 bit summing, it's a known fact that summing doesn't matter on a PC, maybe you're on a MAC? lolzorz.

HA HA YOUR STUPID!!!
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

Bagle
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 7:45 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Bagle » Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:16 am

oh shit man you got a monster cable?
i didnt know.
sorry you win
Anything at my disposal..
http://soundcloud.com/jagle

dcease
Posts: 2405
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:43 am

Post by dcease » Tue Apr 22, 2008 1:37 am

i just bought these, to do ALL my mixing, i shall pwn all...

http://www.crunchgear.com/2008/01/06/dr ... eadphones/

Enots
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 4:02 am

Post by Enots » Tue Apr 22, 2008 1:46 am

Tone Deft wrote:you don't know what you're talking about!!

even after I dropped bucks on Monster Cable for my Creative Giga Works the Live 7 demo sounded like crap compared to sweet sweet Live 4LE. the highs were muddy, the lows were thin and the mids are off. why pay extra for 64 bit summing, it's a known fact that summing doesn't matter on a PC, maybe you're on a MAC? lolzorz.

HA HA YOUR STUPID!!!
It's obvious you have no clue what you're talking about.

Monster cables are for hooking up top tier pro gear, like berhinger mixers. You're using a creative mixer card and the DSP chips only clock at 10 megahertz compared to the clock speed of my behringer mixer which is 40 mhz.

If you think that 64 bit summing isn't worth the while, then why is it that my dual core computer sums 32 bits twice as fast as it does 16 bits? That's the problem with newb's like you. A creative card only has 16 bit summing. My behringer pro mixer board has a full 64 summing capability.

Tubes are NOT overated and you expect this guy to buy a copy of ableton? He can't get that vintage feel from a simple program, he needs the upgraded software for the behringer mixer and certainly a better card than a Creative.

And BTW, you can't load 8k wave files on a 64 bit system. Vista doesn't allow it. Ever since I upgraded, my 8k files stopped working. That's why I keep my Emu Emax around, for loading those gritty sounds. I route it from the Behringer into the computer via firewire.

None of you know anything!
Christ Jesus is King
www.tonystonebeats.com

lunabass
Posts: 989
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 7:13 am
Location: Radelaide, Australia
Contact:

Post by lunabass » Tue Apr 22, 2008 1:57 am

tone maybe try some adapters on your monster cable. try rca to trs then trs (swap +/-) back to rca. i think this will give you phase reverse with 2 x oversampling but i cant back that up with facts. with this technique i've gotten L7 to sound closer to L4...still a fair way to go to get to that LE quality though but it's a start. my tarnce music still sound muddy but in a good way..
:: Current Releases ::
lunabass - Beatport
www.lunabass.com
www.theteahauss.com

Enots
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 4:02 am

Post by Enots » Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:03 am

lunabass wrote:tone maybe try some adapters on your monster cable. try rca to trs then trs (swap +/-) back to rca. i think this will give you phase reverse with 2 x oversampling but i cant back that up with facts. with this technique i've gotten L7 to sound closer to L4...still a fair way to go to get to that LE quality though but it's a start. my tarnce music still sound muddy but in a good way..
Yet another newb. clearly you know nothing also.

You can't use a RCA adaptor when dealing with high frequency recording. There's the issue of EQ dithering that happens every time you use inverted coupling.

The only solution is to cross your audio cables near a power supply. I find that when I put my cables near a power supply, it enhances the bass end and adds subsonic elements to the mix. I still haven't been able to reproduce this in my car stereo, but I think it's because they use high pass filters on the woofers. It works in my studio though (probably because the high quality Op amps on my behringer).
Christ Jesus is King
www.tonystonebeats.com

dcease
Posts: 2405
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:43 am

Post by dcease » Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:11 am

Enots wrote:you don't know what you're talking about!!


None of you know anything!
chill, bro. listenin to your tunes, you know what you are doing. but this can get REAL babylonian REAL quick.

lunabass
Posts: 989
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 7:13 am
Location: Radelaide, Australia
Contact:

Post by lunabass » Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:17 am

Enots wrote: I still haven't been able to reproduce this in my car stereo
pffft. works just fine in my prius
:: Current Releases ::
lunabass - Beatport
www.lunabass.com
www.theteahauss.com

Enots
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 4:02 am

Post by Enots » Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:24 am

lunabass wrote:
Enots wrote: I still haven't been able to reproduce this in my car stereo
pffft. works just fine in my prius
that's because the prius has inverted transistors on it's outputs and it's filtered with quality m-audio gates. There is a real difference beteween that and my high pass woofers. You should see if you can get a tube overdriven effect by putting a compressor inbetween your cd player and car speakers. I tried it once and it gave me that warmth and vintage feel i was going after. Ever since then, i just backed up my car to my studio window and ran some quality monster cable from the car to the audio inputs of my behringer. I'm still trying to find out how to not get the car alarm sound to lock into the BPM i have set on ableton. I emailed tech support and they said they couldn't give me a precise answer without specific information on my car's make and model. Aparently they have to run an emulation to see if the IRQ's on my car is the same as on their machine.
Christ Jesus is King
www.tonystonebeats.com

Post Reply