Macbook pros don't power over firewire anymore?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
robbmasters
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:37 pm
Location: London, UK.

Post by robbmasters » Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:54 am

In OS X, at 256 samples, I get 8.84ms + 8.84ms (17.68ms overall).

But I can work OK at 128 samples, which gives me 5.94ms + 5.94ms (11.88ms overall).

Or you could even consider BootCamp, XP, and ASIO4ALL. Using these, I can get away with 64 samples, which gives me 1.45ms + 1.45ms (2.90ms overall). :D
OS X, Live 9, Microbook II

m.Lo
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by m.Lo » Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:26 am

[quote="robbmasters"]In OS X, at 256 samples, I get 8.84ms + 8.84ms (17.68ms overall).

But I can work OK at 128 samples, which gives me 5.94ms + 5.94ms (11.88ms overall).

Or you could even consider BootCamp, XP, and ASIO4ALL. Using these, I can get away with 64 samples, which gives me 1.45ms + 1.45ms (2.90ms overall). :D[/quote]



Thank you, that´s Informations! So I can go to order that now. I heard no much good about asio4all for issues with heat and much more... and I dont go to windows any way... I have an old G4 Mac that gives me 4+4=8ms @ 128 Samples! Wonder why a new mbp is so much slower, even with a dsp-interface. Thaaaanx to you anyway.

Timur
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 8:55 am

Post by Timur » Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:00 pm

dazzer wrote:I had a brand new Penryn MBP which powered my Ultralite just fine.

I think the problem you're talking about is that the FW doesn't provide enough juice to fire up some interfaces (I distinctly remember there being a problem with Presonus stuff). A workround was to fire it up with AC connected, then you can unplug AC and power it from the FW port.

BTW, I'm not saying the problem has now been solved, simply that a new MBP worked with an Ultralite.
RME Firefaces also had this problem once, but it was cured by a Firmware update as far as I know. The newer Firmware made the FF use less power on startup.

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Post by leedsquietman » Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:20 pm

just get an interface that has direct monitoring then the latency issue for guitar disappears unless you need to monitor FX at the same time you record used in Live or whatever.
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

Timur
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 8:55 am

Post by Timur » Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:22 pm

Direct monitoring will still induce a small latency because of AD/DA conversion being involed. It's small but it's there. On the other hand you are likely used to stand some meters away from your guitar-amp cab to there shouldn't be much of a difference.

Damon_Chambers
Posts: 265
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:13 pm

Post by Damon_Chambers » Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:58 pm

macbook powering my ultralite no probs. i usually use the power adapter though.

prebentious
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am

Post by prebentious » Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:28 pm

I'm running an Onyx Sattelite on a Santa Rosa MBP 2.2. I believe it has the TI chipset. It powers the device fine.

landrvr1
Posts: 1761
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:24 am
Location: ...

Post by landrvr1 » Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:00 pm

I've just heard/read time and time again to use powered devices as much as possible. I've a powered USB hub (nice little jobber) running into my MacBook, and my Focusrite Saffire (firewire) is under it's own power.

Is there any reason one would not do this? Other than a shortage of electrical outlets and/or extension cords? :lol:

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Post by leedsquietman » Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:24 pm

Direct monitoring latency is so small that it is unnoticeable for me, we are talking single figure ms in and out, monitoring through software at 64 samples is comparable but many interfaces and setups are not going to give you stable latency that low even on mega powerful computer setups.

Standing 10 feet away from your guitar amp is a latency of around 12ms.
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

R.J.Dubya
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:26 am
Location: Guelph, Ontario.

Post by R.J.Dubya » Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:12 am

Ok so it's pretty clear that ultralites work fine over firewire power and some others like onyx.

What I'd like to know is if any firebox users are using it bus-powered, and if the ability to do so is dependent on the firewire chipset or not. I don't even know if I have the good one or bad one in my 2.16 mbp.
aka glitchrock-buddha
303 posts as Winston

Macbook pro C2D 2.16, Firepod, rubber band and a stick.

Rahlo
Posts: 716
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2003 6:01 am
Location: Indianapolis, USA
Contact:

Post by Rahlo » Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:35 am

R.J.Dubya wrote:Ok so it's pretty clear that ultralites work fine over firewire power and some others like onyx.

What I'd like to know is if any firebox users are using it bus-powered, and if the ability to do so is dependent on the firewire chipset or not. I don't even know if I have the good one or bad one in my 2.16 mbp.
I'm able to use the firebox with bus power, but I'm on a lowly macbook! :wink:

I was about to upgrade to a mbp too, but this thread reminded me of the firewire bus issue with some of them and certain interfaces. I guess I'll be sticking with the macbook for a while!
peace,

rahlo
------------------------------------------------------
http://www.rahlo.com

MacBook Pro, Live 8, Reason 4, Akai MPD 32, Akai MPK 49, Akai APC 40, Metric Halo ULN-2 expanded, Apogee Duet.

Post Reply