Adding external monitor to macbook is it worth it?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
fishmonkey
Posts: 4079
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Post by fishmonkey » Tue May 06, 2008 12:01 am

willdahbe wrote:
jesso wrote:The main benefit is the bigger screen. I thought I would love to be using 2 screens, but only ever use the big main one now.... i hardly use my macbook screen at all. Which leads me to my question. How in hells teeth do I run my macbook in clamshell mode? I have tried before and failed. (Carlv)
This is in the help finder in the macbook.

To operate your portable computer with an external monitor attached and the display closed:
Connect a USB keyboard and mouse to your portable.
Connect the power adapter to the portable and a power outlet.
Close the portable display to put the computer to sleep.
Connect your portable to an external display.
Wait a few seconds and then press any key on the external keyboard to wake the portable.
if you really wanna run with the lid closed you can also do it with a bluetooth mouse or keyboard if you set the system prefs to allow bluetooth devices to wake the mac...

btw, the computer may run hotter with the lid shut...

willdahbe
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:35 am

Post by willdahbe » Tue May 06, 2008 2:04 am

Poster wrote:
willdahbe wrote:I don't know what people are saying that you can't run ableton on external and vst's on macbook screen. you can drag anything freely from either screen.
MB: only mirror view
MBP: mirror and split view

thats why..
What the hell are you talking about. I have my external hooked up right now with two different backgrounds on them with shit flying all over both screens independently.

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Tue May 06, 2008 9:10 am

willdahbe wrote:
Poster wrote:
willdahbe wrote:I don't know what people are saying that you can't run ableton on external and vst's on macbook screen. you can drag anything freely from either screen.
MB: only mirror view
MBP: mirror and split view

thats why..
What the hell are you talking about. I have my external hooked up right now with two different backgrounds on them with shit flying all over both screens independently.
last time I looked at a Macbook it was still named iBook and could not do split view..
didn't know Apple changed that..

fishmonkey
Posts: 4079
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Post by fishmonkey » Tue May 06, 2008 10:33 am

uhuh... like 2 years ago...

swishniak
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Post by swishniak » Tue May 06, 2008 11:03 am

i just spent a month working in a studio with an 19" external hooked up to my "12 powerbook - it made a huge difference to my workflow (and my eyes!).

now im back home and keep trying to drag plugins to a monitor that isnt there.. like an amputee who has an itch on his missing leg. . .

ok, i guess its not that bad.

Pasha
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Post by Pasha » Tue May 06, 2008 12:06 pm

Poster wrote:
willdahbe wrote:I don't know what people are saying that you can't run ableton on external and vst's on macbook screen. you can drag anything freely from either screen.
MB: only mirror view
MBP: mirror and split view

thats why..
My MB has extended view.... :roll:
Apple Desktop / Laptop
Live 9 Suite,Zebra 2.6,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

evanb
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 1:52 pm

Post by evanb » Wed May 07, 2008 1:24 am

So I hooked up my dell tonight using DVI, it looks like crap!!!

the text is blurry and the images do not look sharp. i am not running in mirror mode its running in its native res. Anyone know how to fix this?

fishmonkey
Posts: 4079
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Post by fishmonkey » Wed May 07, 2008 6:06 am

what version of OS X are you running?

bartvd
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 9:02 am
Location: netherlands

Post by bartvd » Wed May 07, 2008 7:10 am

ive got a macbook and a samsung 20inch.
works great.. sharp as hell.
you can set your settings for both monitors seperately. look into that.
macbook 2ghz, 2g ram. live 7
yamaha wx5/ akai ewi usb

evanb
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 1:52 pm

Post by evanb » Wed May 07, 2008 11:54 am

I am runnin 10.5.2 each monitor has its own resolution but its still jaggedy text

fishmonkey
Posts: 4079
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Post by fishmonkey » Wed May 07, 2008 2:47 pm

there is a fairly major thread somewhere on the Apple support forum about 10.5.2 and the corresponding Leopard graphics update which has caused a shitload of problems with external monitors...

btw, some cheapshit monitors do look crap! i've got a coupla different 22" Samsungs and they're both very good... i had a generic 22" AOC for a few days (before it died that is) and it was terrible compared to the Samsungs...

evanb
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 1:52 pm

Post by evanb » Wed May 07, 2008 3:56 pm

Its a dell monitor so shouldnt be crap. So it could be a leopard issue

Post Reply