Beatsmithing: MIDI-Tap or Mouse-Klick?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply

Beatsmithing: MIDI-MIDI-Tap-Tap or Mausie-Mausie-Click-Click?

MOUSE: I lay down beats the the Jedi precision only a perfectly quantized grid can provide. I am Cyborg.
6
43%
MIDI INPUT: Everybody know's Jedi can't dance! A beat is born, and that's an intimate process. I need the right tool for the job and whatever it is, it's not a Mouse.
8
57%
LOOPS! Beats are neither made nor born, they're bought. Now please leave me alone, I'm trying to organize my shirts by color and you're blocking the light. Is the salmon brighter, or the fuschia?
0
No votes
EVOLUTION: Beatsmithing is for weaklings! Me and my buddies PureData and SuperCollider evolve them from the fertile mixture of cosmic rays and baby's breath.
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 14

three
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 2:16 am
Location: secret lair
Contact:

Beatsmithing: MIDI-Tap or Mouse-Klick?

Post by three » Wed May 14, 2008 3:51 am

This is an easy question. I'm just curious how many of you write/draw your beats on the grid with a mouse, and how many of you tap/play/input them with some kind of instrument, keyboard, mouth harmonia, controller or whatever.

I'll go first: though I have a drum pad available that i could tap on, it's only there because it's attached to the rest of my MIDI controller. Never even tried the pads to see if they work.

kaffein
Posts: 1195
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 2:52 pm
Location: Houston, Texas
Contact:

Post by kaffein » Wed May 14, 2008 3:54 am

I have a padKontrol but I still mouse in my beats. :|

ohmpow
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 6:32 pm

Post by ohmpow » Wed May 14, 2008 4:29 am

midi and pad kontrol here...
occasionally i like to just close my eyes and pound away...sorry too much information
:oops:
philthy
ohmpow
AMD AthlonXP 2400 2.0GHz, Windows XP, 120 gig HD, 1 gig ram,padKontrol,
M-Audio delta 44, Reaktor 5, Live 7

Dan Dare
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:31 am

Post by Dan Dare » Wed May 14, 2008 7:01 am

Midi Input.

Tone Deft
Posts: 24155
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Post by Tone Deft » Wed May 14, 2008 7:04 am

both.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

selthym
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:20 pm

Post by selthym » Wed May 14, 2008 9:21 am

With a mouse,

I have a padKontrol but my fingers don't move quick enough to tap out beats at 135 - 170bpm.

I can create a 4 bar loop with the mouse quicker than recording the Kick, the recording the snare, then the hats etc.

I occasionally play in my hats though.

I just wish there was a simple way I could use my padKontrol pads to write my loops step sequencer style and then record these in. The hacks so far (including my own) have some limitations, normally only allowing 1 bar at aa time.

three
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 2:16 am
Location: secret lair
Contact:

Post by three » Wed May 14, 2008 10:06 am

selthym wrote:he hacks so far (including my own) have some limitations, normally only allowing 1 bar at aa time.
Do you mean synth/bass loops? I've been trying to avoid that as well, i wrote a long lead line that ended up way too jazzy over the weekend but mostly i've been making massive patches that generate at least a bar of music per note for the lead, and cutting back on notes in the bass try to make each one count. Save on MIDI notes that way ;p

Cheers,

Chris

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Wed May 14, 2008 12:00 pm

2, 3 and 4, although we all know loops are sampled, not bought. :D

Khazul
Posts: 3185
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Post by Khazul » Wed May 14, 2008 12:17 pm

Use an MPC then record into live as midi.
Nothing to see here - move along!

three
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 2:16 am
Location: secret lair
Contact:

Post by three » Wed May 14, 2008 12:25 pm

Machinate wrote:2, 3 and 4, although we all know loops are sampled, not bought. :D
That's a good point, we think we control the beats, but they're let loose in a room full of party people, they take power!

contakt321
Posts: 1523
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: NYC

Post by contakt321 » Wed May 14, 2008 1:29 pm

I do a combination of drawing them in and playing them on pads.

I typically draw in the kick on the 1 of each bar and then the snares on the 2's and 4's and then I play everything else.

When I play the other kicks and percussion I usually don't quantize so I go back w/ the mouse and clean things up and slide things around.

It's how I worked on the MPC2000 as well except no mouse, I would scroll through in step mode.

selthym
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:20 pm

Post by selthym » Wed May 14, 2008 1:42 pm

three wrote:
selthym wrote:he hacks so far (including my own) have some limitations, normally only allowing 1 bar at aa time.
Do you mean synth/bass loops? I've been trying to avoid that as well, i wrote a long lead line that ended up way too jazzy over the weekend but mostly i've been making massive patches that generate at least a bar of music per note for the lead, and cutting back on notes in the bass try to make each one count. Save on MIDI notes that way ;p

Cheers,

Chris
I was referring to the drums. 1 midi channel triggering the Kick, another snare, another hat etc.

I play my bass/leads in with the padKontrol hooked up to some chord and scale presets made by a guy called stray (google - beatwise network)

djgroovy
Posts: 2025
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:15 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by djgroovy » Thu May 15, 2008 1:46 pm

1, 2, 3 & i'm learning 4 (Max demo).

It's all good.

andydes
Posts: 2917
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:53 pm
Location: Bremen

Post by andydes » Thu May 15, 2008 1:52 pm

Mousey click click, for me. Almost all the time. Have tried tapping in parts and quantising, but always end up editing so much anyway after the fact, it just seems pointless. However, I like the sound of this method:
contakt321 wrote: I typically draw in the kick on the 1 of each bar and then the snares on the 2's and 4's and then I play everything else.

hangar17
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 4:56 am
Location: singapore
Contact:

Post by hangar17 » Thu May 15, 2008 2:03 pm

mousey
I fell down the musical stairs at the science museum.
It went like : C F# B D Ab A#5 E D B A THUD!

we are airfields
this is hangar 17

Post Reply