Vocal note extension

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
trelax
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:56 pm

Vocal note extension

Post by trelax » Fri May 23, 2008 6:05 pm

Can anyone shed some light on how to extend a vocal note or single tone. I hear it a lot as a 4 or 8-count build before the vocal line plays out, (usually in breakdowns I guess). check Klaas's track "Space" to see what I'm talkin about.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8Y9p24PfCM
party

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Fri May 23, 2008 8:40 pm

two ways it's done in that track:

very first note (coming in "iiiii'm") - reversed reverb

second time (going back out again) - timestretching, baby.. I hear Ableton Live is good for that stuff ;) Make a separate clip and go crazy with the warp markers.

trelax
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:56 pm

Post by trelax » Sat May 24, 2008 1:37 am

Machinate wrote:two ways it's done in that track:

very first note (coming in "iiiii'm") - reversed reverb

second time (going back out again) - timestretching, baby.. I hear Ableton Live is good for that stuff ;) Make a separate clip and go crazy with the warp markers.
Sweet... Can you discuss the reversed reverb trick a bit more. I've been trying to figure it out but not sure if I'm going about it properly.
party

bragi0
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 6:07 am
Location: Sydney, AU
Contact:

Post by bragi0 » Sat May 24, 2008 4:19 am

take sample, reverse it (rev button in ableton). apply a very obvious reverb. flatten track. reverse again. done!

trelax
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:56 pm

Post by trelax » Sat May 24, 2008 3:17 pm

bragi0 wrote:take sample, reverse it (rev button in ableton). apply a very obvious reverb. flatten track. reverse again. done!
I've reversed the track, applied a reverb. But I dont have the option to flatten. The flatten command is grayed out in my edit drop down. Why could that be?
party

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Post by 3dot... » Sat May 24, 2008 3:55 pm

trelax wrote:
bragi0 wrote:take sample, reverse it (rev button in ableton). apply a very obvious reverb. flatten track. reverse again. done!
I've reversed the track, applied a reverb. But I dont have the option to flatten. The flatten command is grayed out in my edit drop down. Why could that be?
first freeze->then flatten.
Image

trelax
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:56 pm

Post by trelax » Sat May 24, 2008 5:16 pm

3dot... wrote:
trelax wrote:
bragi0 wrote:take sample, reverse it (rev button in ableton). apply a very obvious reverb. flatten track. reverse again. done!
I've reversed the track, applied a reverb. But I dont have the option to flatten. The flatten command is grayed out in my edit drop down. Why could that be?
first freeze->then flatten.
lovely... done. Sounds great!
party

Post Reply