Bad time to buy a Mac?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Pasha
Posts: 3248
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Post by Pasha » Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:54 am

bensuthers wrote:no leopard issues over here. excellence only.
Good. Which hardware?
Apple iMac 2013 / Macbook Late 2012
Live 10 Suite,Zebra ,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

dazzer
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am

Post by dazzer » Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:08 pm

Leopard + Penryn 2.4 MacBook working great here, touch wood.

Kobalt
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:49 pm
Location: Paris

Post by Kobalt » Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:25 pm

dazzer,
do you use any firewire soundcard or the internal soundcard? I'm trying to get an update on that bloody "lucent/algere fw chipset problem" on current mb (if there is any update...).

dazzer
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am

Post by dazzer » Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:28 pm

Kobalt wrote:dazzer,
do you use any firewire soundcard or the internal soundcard? I'm trying to get an update on that bloody "lucent/algere fw chipset problem" on current mb (if there is any update...).
Yep, I use a MOTU Ultralite, works fine. I was a bit paranoid about the Lucent/Agere thing too ( I haven't tested but I'm pretty sure my MB has got one instead of TI) so the shop let me connect the Ultralite to a MacBook in the shop to test it before I bought. All was fine.

Kobalt
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:49 pm
Location: Paris

Post by Kobalt » Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:47 pm

thks for your reply. apparently the ultralite works fine but that is not the case for other manufacturers fw soundcards, as the presonus firebox... for instance... :evil:
as for the original post, if the mb is not to be used with a fw soundcard (usb midi interfacing only) I think it's a really great choice. my bro have the former black mb and it rocks.

jimbalaya
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:13 pm
Contact:

Post by jimbalaya » Wed Jun 11, 2008 2:10 pm

Macbook Pro w/ Penryn processor running 10.5.3 with an Echo Audiofire2

I bought this to replace both a 12" Powerbook and a core2duo PC that I built myself, and it's done the job very well.

suie_paparude
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 2:30 pm
Location: bucharest,romania
Contact:

Post by suie_paparude » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:26 pm

i had a santa rosa 17 inch macbook pro which ran fine tiger but awful with the drop in disk of leopard.i gave it back and i upgraded to a penryn macbook pro 2.5 ghz.

it's gorgeous.good display, absolutely no problem with audio or anything.
i'm using it every week 2-3 times per week in gigs.so it's very well tested.
i say go for it.
http://www.suiepaparude.ro
MBPro,Live(1.5-8),Sampler,Operator,Analog,Reaktor,Pluggo,Kore,Mode,Bias Peak,Sonalksis,Reason,Audio Damage,Absynth,Massive,Korg Legacy collection + controller,FAW Circle,Synplant

doc holiday
Posts: 1683
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:49 am
Location: NOW

Post by doc holiday » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:39 pm

dazzer wrote:Leopard + Penryn 2.4 MacBook working great here, touch wood.
+1, but i have the mbp

guerillabass
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 10:22 am

Post by guerillabass » Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:25 am

I want to get a MacBook/Pro but I am not sure about the Firewire issues.

Mac Firewire WAS always solid with the TI-Chipset...

I guess i should wait...

Kobalt
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:49 pm
Location: Paris

Post by Kobalt » Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:53 am

guerillabass wrote:I want to get a MacBook/Pro but I am not sure about the Firewire issues.

Mac Firewire WAS always solid with the TI-Chipset...

I guess i should wait...
Same here... I was about to get a macbook to go with a firebox (firebox works like a charm with imac24white=>TI chipset). current mb are equiped with lucent/agere, so I was hoping maybe I could get a refurbed SR mb but even my bro's late 07 SR blackbook has the lucent chipset...
I don't need the extra bells & whistles of a mbp... but it seems to be the only choice among mac laptop for now... guerillabass : current mbp do have the TI chipset.

suie_paparude
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 2:30 pm
Location: bucharest,romania
Contact:

Post by suie_paparude » Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:18 pm

Penryn 2.5 model has Texas Instruments Firewire Chipset
you can check this with windows installed under vmware or paralleles in control panel.

mihai
http://www.suiepaparude.ro
MBPro,Live(1.5-8),Sampler,Operator,Analog,Reaktor,Pluggo,Kore,Mode,Bias Peak,Sonalksis,Reason,Audio Damage,Absynth,Massive,Korg Legacy collection + controller,FAW Circle,Synplant

Post Reply