*This* is why I love Live!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
sporkles
Posts: 3203
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

*This* is why I love Live!

Post by sporkles » Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:42 pm

I wanted to remix an older track of mine, but I wanted to start from a new
template while retaining all the automation data from the lead synth. No
fricking problem: just grab the entire track from the old file and drag it into the
browser. Open the new project and drag the track into it.

It's so damn simple! :D

I love it!

nathannn
Posts: 3317
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

Post by nathannn » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:15 pm

holy shit!
i cant believe i have been missing this
i wonder if you can do it with guitar rig also.
thanks.
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

bensuthers
Posts: 760
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:51 am

Post by bensuthers » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:26 pm

fuck.


fuck fuck.

doc holiday
Posts: 1683
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:49 am
Location: NOW

Post by doc holiday » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:36 pm

now if we could only retain the midi assignments when we do this!!

it's a great way to jam ideas also!

misteron
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:28 am

Post by misteron » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:58 pm

This brought a tear to my eye...

It's just so beautiful!


...sniff

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: *This* is why I love Live!

Post by Amaury » Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:49 am

sporkles wrote:I wanted to remix an older track of mine, but I wanted to start from a new
template while retaining all the automation data from the lead synth. No
fricking problem: just grab the entire track from the old file and drag it into the
browser. Open the new project and drag the track into it.

It's so damn simple! :D

I love it!
Hi,

You don't even have to drag the track from the old set to the Browser, you can just locate the already saved set and unfold it, then access all of its tracks, even if they were not individually saved.

Regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:57 am

or more simply you can open the set, select all the tracks except for the one you want to keep and hit delete.
that's actually possible with any DAW. :wink:

sporkles
Posts: 3203
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: *This* is why I love Live!

Post by sporkles » Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:04 am

Amaury wrote: Hi,

You don't even have to drag the track from the old set to the Browser, you can just locate the already saved set and unfold it, then access all of its tracks, even if they were not individually saved.

Regards,
Amaury
Wonderful - that was actually my first inclination, but I guess I must have
overlooked it in the file browser! Cheers!

doc holiday
Posts: 1683
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:49 am
Location: NOW

Post by doc holiday » Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:17 pm

peeddrroo wrote:or more simply you can open the set, select all the tracks except for the one you want to keep and hit delete.
that's actually possible with any DAW. :wink:
but in any other daw you cannot create a blank set, and start dragging any track from any set into the current set.


and do this in real time with audio playing the whole time.

i didn't even realize the OP was first saving the track independently of the set.

bensuthers
Posts: 760
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:51 am

Post by bensuthers » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:31 am

> but in any other daw you cannot create a blank set, and start dragging any track
> from any set into the current set.

exactly.

because ableton is predicated on a couple of simple things, two of which are:

you should never have to press stop.

the sequencer doesn't need to know in advance what it's going to play next.

;-)

Zerobae
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:17 am
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Post by Zerobae » Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:19 am

and don't forget you can listen to any clip from any other set in the browser, in sync to your current set. even if it's a midi clip with vstis and vsts... - this feature still blows my mind.

Post Reply