All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 97 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Novation Nocturn instant mappings! (download)
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:07 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Posts: 7471
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
I made instant mappings for the brilliant Novation Nocturn.
Follow the instructions in the readme.txt
The instructions are for Windows XP, For Mac users the userconfigurations.txt needs to go somewhere else obviously. Vista I dunno.

The 8 encoders control various parameters in Live devices.
This is programmed by Ableton and can't be changed, but it generally makes a lot of sense. Also it's a lot nicer for recording automation moves to turn a knob!

Buttons 7 & 8 on the Nocturn step forward/backward through banks of parameters.
Button 1 locks the Nocturn to the current device.
The Live status bar will display bank and lock info.
If you want to you can add transport controls & master fader to the Nocturn buttons that aren't used yet, and the cross-fader.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/01b8r7


EDIT: I just found out that if you then name it in the Nocturn GUI and then click "Set as default control map for this Client" it will be saved and the instance name also.
EDIT: Nicken made an instant mapping and a tutorial about how to set it all up here: http://nckn.de/2009/08/tutorial-automap-in-ableton-live-with-novation-nocturn/
So if you're stuck after reading my instructions try reading that one too! And he's got a cool thing for navigation buttons for Automap Pro.


Last edited by djsynchro on Sun Aug 02, 2009 2:20 am, edited 5 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:48 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:16 pm
Posts: 8
Perfect!

Thanks!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:01 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 10:13 pm
Posts: 777
Location: uk
just got mine today
loving it
thanks

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/projectf - Progressive
http://soundcloud.com/fproject
http://twitter.com/fproject1

Macbook 2.4 4GB/Live 7.15/massive/Absynth 4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 12:56 am 

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 913
Location: Location: Location:
These darn French companies... when will they send us our stock? :evil:

_________________
Image
The Leveller wrote:
Wow, a weird shaped dead coral with sh!t stuck to it. Proof indeed of supernatural abilities.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:36 am 

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:08 am
Posts: 87
perfect thanks
I like the nocturn, automap 2 and was just thinking how cool it would be if you could program an inbuilt sequencer within automap which could be (slaved to the host) for step mod, lfo ,algorithmic, rand type stuff.

when you have set up all sorts of lfo's and shit in auto map you could then assign them to any vst/live parameters you like. A Novation Automap Tweek/Glitch Module if you like!

Combine this with live's own 'normal' automation and you get a killer combo

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/fabricasoul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 3:00 am 

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Posts: 7471
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
I love this little controller to death I think the concept is brilliant!

The hardest part is not how to use it, but to figure out the best way to arrange all the parameters in pages.

What's really good is to edit plug ins with the VST GUI closed, so you don't get distracted by the silly pictures but you're just tweaking and LISTENING to what's happening. I already came up with totally new sounds for a lot of my plug-ins that I use every day.

:!:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:38 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:10 pm
Posts: 251
Location: Zombie Nation
anyone come up with some new templates yet, before I get stuck in, its just out the box

I'll look the bizz at weddings and bingo rave now

_________________
House Music Made In England...
[b]Twitter
Facebook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:57 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:30 pm
Posts: 102
please help can anyone give simple instructions on how to get this working with vista? I cant find where to put the remote user script etc ? Cheers Alan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: How to do this in OSX 10.4.11
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:02 pm 

Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 10:10 am
Posts: 47
Location: Norway
Hello
Just got me the Nocturn. Does anybody know how to do this in OSX 10.4.11.
Thank you
arne


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:13 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:02 pm
Posts: 721
No luck at all with this on the Mac so far. Has anyone gotten this working on a Mac yet?

_________________
burgerkone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:28 am 

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:43 am
Posts: 2405
thanks djsynchro :D works alright for a work around. i would prefer to be able to map live devices just like vst's/au's, but i will take what i can get. this thing is pretty fucking sweet...


kuniklo wrote:
No luck at all with this on the Mac so far. Has anyone gotten this working on a Mac yet?
just substitute the window's directory with...
Lucas wrote:
on mac the file goes at user/library/preferences/live/user remote scripts.
other than that, follow djsynchro's read me file- it works.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:16 pm 

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:58 pm
Posts: 1967
Location: Nottingham, UK
Excellent. I'll have a look at that when I get home.

Bought the Nocturn about 6 weeks ago; fantastic bit of kit. I haven't really been using it much recently, though, as I've got back to hand editing everything in my tracks! Can't wait to get it set up for proper live use!

_________________
Macbook | Live 7.0.18 |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:15 pm 

Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 8:25 pm
Posts: 2
thank you, djsynchro!

But: I can't get it to work. I use ableton 7 and vista 64bit. Has anyone experience with that?

And I didn't understand: If it works, is it then possible to drag in one of abletons effects and have that properly assigned to nocturn's controls? Or do I have to use the learn function again?

thank you again

simon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:50 am 

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Posts: 7471
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Well I have stopped using the nocturnMidi clients and the instant mappins because I also have a BCF and I get BSODs if I use the Nocturn's MIDI shizzle :(

Sucks a little bit but I usually map stuff to Macro's so I can tiddle it with the BCF's 8 encoders so not the end of the world either.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:19 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:42 am
Posts: 180
crasser_checker wrote:
And I didn't understand: If it works, is it then possible to drag in one of abletons effects and have that properly assigned to nocturn's controls? Or do I have to use the learn function again?


Live has a method to 'lock' onto a single Live device, graphically indicated by a hand icon on the device's title bar. 8 parameters of the device can be controlled by 8 CCs; which 8 CCs are used is determined in file UserConfiguration.txt. DJSynchro's download (thanks for that, BTW!) tells Live to use MIDI CC 0-7 (on MIDI channel 16).

The most obvious way to do things to me has just been using racks on everything, as 8 knobs -> 8 rack macros is really easy (and I'm good about labeling rack macros). The top left button on the Nocturn can set the lock, it's very quick.

Thanks for the control map, DJSynchro.

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/xherv
I know EVERYTHING that I know and you don't know, and don't know what I don't know that you know, so I'll ignore that stuff. Wassup now?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 97 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group