Anyone using Apogee Duet?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
misteron
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:28 am

Anyone using Apogee Duet?

Post by misteron » Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:02 am

I've heard one report of problems using Duet with more than 2GB RAM (post #21 on this page)

Can anyone confirm / deny?

Has anyone used Duet with Leopard?

joeyfivecents
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

Post by joeyfivecents » Tue Jul 01, 2008 2:24 am

using duet with leopard and the only problems I've had so far is the massive amounts of latency with Live.
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Greco gtrs, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

joeyfivecents
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

Post by joeyfivecents » Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:15 pm

any news on this?
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Greco gtrs, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

misteron
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:28 am

Post by misteron » Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:46 pm

no news here.
decided on ultralite instead
MBP 2.4GHz, 4Gb RAM, OSX 10.5.5, Live7Suite, Motu Ultralite Mk3, ADAM p11A

t1mp
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:44 pm
Location: Concord, CA
Contact:

Post by t1mp » Thu Jul 24, 2008 8:42 pm

i run it on leopard with 9 ms latency. Thats total. Its a very good card. I am using with 4 gigs of ram.

joeyfivecents
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

Post by joeyfivecents » Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:53 am

i'm also running it with Leopard and 4 gigs of RAM but if I adjust it down past 11ms input latency it crackles and pops like crazy
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Greco gtrs, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

dysanfel
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 3:06 am

Post by dysanfel » Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:03 am

I use it with 3GB in my MacBook and 4GB in my Hackintosh. Works great. If you want a unit that sounds better than anything else on the market under $1500 buy a Duet.
Gig Rig - rMBP 2.3GHZ i7, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD, OSX 10.11.x, Presonus FS, Live 9.x
Home Rig - i7-6700k Hackintosh 32GB DDR4, 2nd Generation Scarlet 18i20, ADA8000, JoeMeek SixQ, Live 9.x

Tytus
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Tytus » Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:31 am

t1mp wrote:i run it on leopard with 9 ms latency. Thats total.
after delay compensation?

TheSilent
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:26 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by TheSilent » Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:39 pm

misteron wrote:no news here.
decided on ultralite instead
Decided on ultralite mk3 also..

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Post by beats me » Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:55 pm

Correct me if I am wrong here, but I heard you can't separate the main outs from the headphone out so it's all or nothing. How stupid…or maybe I am stupid if I'm wrong. It seems a little pricey if all you are getting is just clean sound and low latency on just 2 tracks.

joeyfivecents
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

Post by joeyfivecents » Fri Jul 25, 2008 9:25 pm

there is clean sound but like I keep saying, with Live there is no low latency.
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Greco gtrs, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

krank
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:34 am

Post by krank » Fri Jul 25, 2008 9:35 pm

Tytus wrote:
t1mp wrote:i run it on leopard with 9 ms latency. Thats total.
after delay compensation?
Huh?

Tytus
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Tytus » Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:05 pm

im asking if he uses delay compensation at all. cause like joey said, theres no low latency with live.

Tarekith
Posts: 17579
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Sat Jul 26, 2008 1:55 am

Delay compensation has nothing to do with this... so.... huh?

t1mp
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:44 pm
Location: Concord, CA
Contact:

Post by t1mp » Sat Jul 26, 2008 2:42 am

krank wrote:
Tytus wrote:
t1mp wrote:i run it on leopard with 9 ms latency. Thats total.
after delay compensation?
Huh?
yes after delay comp

Post Reply