Anyone using Apogee Duet?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
joeyfivecents
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

Post by joeyfivecents » Sat Jul 26, 2008 2:36 pm

thank you. give me an example of your delay comp settings
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Greco gtrs, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

krank
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:34 am

Post by krank » Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:16 pm

joeyfivecents wrote:thank you. give me an example of your delay comp settings
I think you've got some concepts mixed up here.

Tytus
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Tytus » Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:38 pm

t1mp wrote:
krank wrote:
Tytus wrote: after delay compensation?
Huh?
yes after delay comp
thanks

sorry, i mean driver error compensation.

misteron
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:28 am

Post by misteron » Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:05 am

well i thought i had decided on Ultralite!!
But as i am waiting on it to be in stock , i am getting tempted y the size and style of the Duet.
hmm...
MBP 2.4GHz, 4Gb RAM, OSX 10.5.5, Live7Suite, Motu Ultralite Mk3, ADAM p11A

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Post by leedsquietman » Mon Jul 28, 2008 4:50 am

11 ms total *whats that, around 256 samples/buffers* is fine for most purposes. Most interfaces allow direct monitoring for recording guitars, microphones etc with almost zero latency.

Live has very little to do with it, Plugins add latency (especially reverbs and some compressors and amp sims), and some softsynths cannot be run comfortably under 256 buffers. I can run audio at 128 buffers no probs for at least a dozen audio tracks and if I freeze vsti/au tracks etc. and I'm using an Alesis IO14 FW interface, which is not noted for it's amazing latency. MIDI tracks / VSTi or AU tracks need more processing power.

Have you tried turning off wifi, background tasks and if you have speedstepping turned on (say a laptop) turn it off. Try checking your system latency with the DPC latency checker or similar device to see if you can run your audio programs ok.

When you are start to add in the plugins and for mixing, step the latency up to 512 or 1,024 samples for smooth click free mixing. Low latency is only necessary for recording.
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

Tytus
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Tytus » Mon Jul 28, 2008 5:32 am

leedsquietman wrote:DPC latency checker or similar device to see if you can run your audio programs ok.
is that for macs also? i only found one for windows.

dysanfel
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 3:06 am

Post by dysanfel » Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:31 pm

The Duet is the best sounding interface. We are making music, right?

11ms is about 150 samples.
Gig Rig - rMBP 2.3GHZ i7, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD, OSX 10.11.x, Presonus FS, Live 9.x
Home Rig - i7-6700k Hackintosh 32GB DDR4, 2nd Generation Scarlet 18i20, ADA8000, JoeMeek SixQ, Live 9.x

misteron
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:28 am

Post by misteron » Wed Jul 30, 2008 8:43 pm

How feasible is it to aggregate the Duet with the MBPs built in soundcard and use the MBP phones out to cue from?

Thoughts? Experience?

Coz if i'm not mistaken, Duet's headphones level is linked to main outs, right?
So not much use for cueing then?
MBP 2.4GHz, 4Gb RAM, OSX 10.5.5, Live7Suite, Motu Ultralite Mk3, ADAM p11A

misteron
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:28 am

Post by misteron » Thu Jul 31, 2008 6:53 pm

^bump
would I still be able to control the level of the MBPs phones out?
MBP 2.4GHz, 4Gb RAM, OSX 10.5.5, Live7Suite, Motu Ultralite Mk3, ADAM p11A

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Post by beats me » Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:07 pm

misteron wrote:^bump
would I still be able to control the level of the MBPs phones out?
If you are asking if you can have 2 volumes on the Duet, one for main and one for headpones, I believe the answer is no. One volume controls all outputs. Yeah I agree that's BS.

I also don't think you can use an audio interface and access your internal sound card at the same time.

But I've been corrected on here many times.

t1mp
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:44 pm
Location: Concord, CA
Contact:

Post by t1mp » Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:45 pm

yea with the duet, once the Maestro software kicks in the onboard sound cannot be used. The phones are linked to the mains. There are some downfalls. But the drivers are rock solid, it has 1/4 ins or xlr and the phantom is turned on via the software. Preamps are good, not noisy, good signal, would use an outboard solution for preamp tho.

Its a good card and the 'knob' is awesome!!! you control the input volumes access all the menus by clicking the big knob.

CR78
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:04 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by CR78 » Thu Jul 31, 2008 8:10 pm

Does the Duet have spdif in?

Tone Deft
Posts: 24037
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Jul 31, 2008 8:13 pm

CR78 wrote:Does the Duet have spdif in?
took me 20 seconds to find this out with GOOGLE.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Post by beats me » Thu Jul 31, 2008 8:15 pm

IMO I think this thing is like buying a BMW without a steering wheel, same great quality parts and you can zoom backward and forward all day long, but if you want to make a turn then you are going to have to spend twice the price to get a model with a steering wheel.

Tone Deft
Posts: 24037
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Jul 31, 2008 8:17 pm

isn't that the mac world in general? form over function? Apple's getting better at the function part but they've always had form down.

"ooooh pretty, must have, this will look great with my other Apple accessories. what does it do? I don't know."

the iPhone does give me a chubby though.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

Post Reply