Formating a Hard Drive 139G ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
panners
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:26 pm

Formating a Hard Drive 139G ?

Post by panners » Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:32 pm

Can anybody thel me how to format a 500g hard drive. I tried to install a copy of windows 2000 on the drive to get it going.That used to work for me. The drive is done now but only sees 139 gigs. what should I try next?

ta

bragi0
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 6:07 am
Location: Sydney, AU
Contact:

Post by bragi0 » Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:37 pm

you need a BIOS and a win2k driver that support LBA48

panners
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:26 pm

Post by panners » Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:50 pm

My motherboard is just new surely the bios should be ok to see it. I have other big drives installed on my machine that I formatted with my old machine and they work fine in the machine

panners
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:26 pm

Post by panners » Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:24 pm

Anybody then

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:39 pm

did you actually update your bios or just assume it's up-to-date? It shouldn't take more than a few minutes...

nebulae
Posts: 15715
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Post by nebulae » Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:59 pm

Why using 2000 instead of XP?
Image Image Image Image

panners
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:26 pm

Post by panners » Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:15 pm

because XP was causing the same problem. thats why I tried Windows 2000, because that used to work for me

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:48 am

there may be jumpers on the drive which effect this (right?)

pretty sure there are certain updates / service packs which are needed to see a drive that big with windows..

Post Reply