OT: problem with screen resolution

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
compositeone
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:22 pm
Contact:

OT: problem with screen resolution

Post by compositeone » Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:16 am

Since I have had a wide screen monitor I have run my desktop at 1440x900 resolution and never had any problems.

Last week a trip switch went in the house and the power went off.
Unfortunately the battery in the lappy was almost dead and we didn't realise the trip went so it switched off after a while.

Since rebooting, my laptop will only output at 1280x768 or 1400x1050. 1440x900 just isn't an option on the slider any more. I have tried changing the refresh rates but nothing seems to make a difference. I have tried to change the resolution using the windows controller and the graphics card software its self, but they just don't give me the resolution option I'm after.

Any ideas on what has gone wrong and how I can fix it?
http://www.myspace.com/compositeswerve

"So what kind of music do you make?"
"Both kinds...... drum and bass."

djgroovy
Posts: 2025
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:15 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by djgroovy » Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:39 am

Download and install the latest drivers for your video card. That will probably fix it.

compositeone
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:22 pm
Contact:

Post by compositeone » Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:32 am

Downloaded the latest ones and when I try to install it goes through the motions, then tells me it can't be installed.

Totally confused by this, its just not giving me any 16:9 resolution settings. :/
http://www.myspace.com/compositeswerve

"So what kind of music do you make?"
"Both kinds...... drum and bass."

Pitch Black
Posts: 6450
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:54 am

Are you on mac or pc? Have you tried powering up the lappie with the external screen connected and switched on - often that's a good way to help the computer acquire the monitor.

Is the monitor working and responding to the other settings?
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

bytheriver
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:53 pm

Post by bytheriver » Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:22 am

If your on PC you can get a few driver-cleaner programs for video drivers that wipe all trace of drivers from your machine so you can install fresh ones without bits of the old ones confusing them, might be worth a shot.

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=745

Post Reply