Tom Cosm & Pitch Black - Live Workshop Video now online

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
SimCard
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:14 pm

Post by SimCard » Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:37 pm

That's because Tom, Paddy, and Mike hate Mac users and spend their spare time concocting fiendish plots to thwart them.
But I'm nowhere near a Mac !!
SimCardLive
UK based producer of Tech, Min Tech & Trance.

SimCard
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:14 pm

Post by SimCard » Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:39 pm

fatrabbit wrote:OMGWTFBBQ! - WMV file? Will this play on Mac before I download?

Thanks.
You can convert the file to other formats - Replay Converter will do this although it's not free. Dunno if anyone else has suggestions on software to use?
SimCardLive
UK based producer of Tech, Min Tech & Trance.

yoshitosser
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:03 am

Post by yoshitosser » Mon Aug 18, 2008 2:18 pm

SimCard wrote:
fatrabbit wrote:OMGWTFBBQ! - WMV file? Will this play on Mac before I download?

Thanks.
You can convert the file to other formats - Replay Converter will do this although it's not free. Dunno if anyone else has suggestions on software to use?
Flip4Mac. Free. All over the Internets.

dphouse84
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Music City USA - Nashville, TN

Post by dphouse84 » Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:40 pm

Image
Image
Stuff I actually use.
sound card, speakers, mic, MBP, Mighty Mouse, Ableton, Reason, iPad, iPhone,Touchable, Rebirth, & other apps.
Pair of Technics 1200's, and a Pioneer Mixer

fatrabbit
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Bath, UK

Post by fatrabbit » Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:52 pm

A little OT, but I find video can be one of the most frustrating things. On my PC for example the codecs are all over the place - sometimes videos have audio but no video. I can get round it by opening the file in one video application but also opening another at the same time. It will then play perfectly in the second program. Go figure! It doesn't help that there are countless codec packs that you can download that supposedly make things easy, but are obviously overwriting important files and stepping on toes.

Converting videos - especially trying to cross the PC - Mac valley can also be mystifyingly frustrating. I use all the little tricks like the nifty Perian plugin for Quicktime which should play 3rd party codecs, but I still run into problems from time to time.

Just an observation - maybe it's just me, eh.

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Post by Jekblad » Mon Aug 18, 2008 6:17 pm

yes. download flipformac.

and get VLC too if you don't have it. It's nice all around movie player that's free.
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:54 pm

nebulae wrote:That's because Tom, Paddy, and Mike hate Mac users and spend their spare time concocting fiendish plots to thwart them.
Yup, we hate macs... oh yeah... :D
Image

Beats Me, and others who are having trouble downloading, sorry about that, not sure why this is happening. It seems some people get it just fine and others not. The video encoding has been a learning curve for me too - it does seem to be one of the remaining dark arts. We chose to use a fairly big file (800x600) so that a reasonable amount of detail would show up on the projector screen-shots.

For Mac-heads, as mentioned on the download page, Flip4Mac will allow the WMV to play in Quicktime Player. VLC will work as well. I consider VLC a must-have especially as it will play the rented DVD's that Apple DVD Player rejects as being "too scratched or dirty".

cheers
paddy

Tarekith
Posts: 17417
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:16 pm

Id also recommend the Perian codec pack too.

irrelevance
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 7:31 pm

Post by irrelevance » Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:49 pm

Ahh video yes I forgot about this! Thanks guys. Hope to see you out there again 8)

lunabass
Posts: 988
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 7:13 am
Location: Radelaide, Australia
Contact:

Post by lunabass » Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:07 pm

Pitch Black wrote: Image
dodgy macs with their transparent screens.

great vid, thanx for posting
:: Current Releases ::
Miles End - Beatport
www.lunabass.com
www.ba-doop.com

The Manuel Portio - Beatport
lunabass [House] - Facebook
Kamuku [Drum & Bass]
Atomitek [Techno]

heavensdaw
Posts: 1825
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: inbetween the inbetween

Post by heavensdaw » Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:54 pm

Hey guys... really cool vid, got a lot from it.. Wish I could have got there..

Thanks for posting..

Shit shame you didn't make it over to Barcelona though :(

Peace

Hd

dphouse84
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Music City USA - Nashville, TN

Post by dphouse84 » Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:49 pm

thank you soooo much for putting the video up. can't thank you guys enough.
you're work is so appreciated.
i will be passing this on to other peeps here in town.

Tom,
i checked your website out; what a major bummer!
sorry to hear than meng 8O
where are the ableton sets you said you would have up for us to download.

Paddy,
what great midi setup instruction.
WOW!

best wishes,

and thanx again

(i hope other sessions like this are made available like thi in the future)

moldover, if you see this post.
it was great meeting you in charlotte and talking shop!

michael
Stuff I actually use.
sound card, speakers, mic, MBP, Mighty Mouse, Ableton, Reason, iPad, iPhone,Touchable, Rebirth, & other apps.
Pair of Technics 1200's, and a Pioneer Mixer

yearlongyeti
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 5:45 am

Post by yearlongyeti » Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:12 am

Thanks guys, really eye opening stuff. Assigning songs to midi patches had never occured to me. Was thinking it must be harder than that. Why do you record in logic first and then transfer it to ableton? Thanks again.

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:06 am

yearlongyeti wrote:Why do you record in logic first and then transfer it to ableton?
We write 50/50 in Live and Logic, but do final mixes in Logic. I've had almost 15 years on Logic, and I love it's software instruments and plug-ins (I bought quite a few of them seperately before they all got bundled together!). Also, Logic's automation is much more fully featured than Live's.

Post Reply