Motu Ultralite MK-3 Reverb routing

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
anch
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:50 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Motu Ultralite MK-3 Reverb routing

Post by anch » Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:13 pm

Hi! a can't use Motu Ultralite MK-3 Reverb on SENDS. The question is how to routing Motu's DSP.
May be anybody know, help me please.

Kodama
Posts: 1949
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:07 am
Location: PDX

Post by Kodama » Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:27 pm

Sorry to pirate your thread, but how do you like the MKIII so far?
GO VEGAN!!! - Macbook Air, Bass Station II, Some Korg shit, Live Suite, U-He, Audio Damage, Microtonic, Ohmicide, more soft stuffs, awesome controllers, euro rack modular synth,an awesome cat.

swishniak
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Post by swishniak » Sun Sep 07, 2008 11:17 pm

Kodama wrote:Sorry to pirate your thread, but how do you like the MKIII so far?
yeah id like to hear too - ive had one on order forever..

anch
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:50 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by anch » Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:36 am

Motu Ultralite MK-3 sounds very good. I like it for stability and small latency (2 ms). This fireware interface don't eat CPU power from computer. My previous Presonus FireBox need about 10% CPU power on my PowerBook G4. But the main is stability during performances. Plus not bad reverb and good compressors. I also use mic and guitar pres on it.

anch
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:50 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by anch » Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:27 pm

OK, now I know that 11-12 outs - REVERB, so i'm sending signal from Ableton to any external out and then - from this jut to reverb/ Then on new track I organise input from 11-12 external. May be it's not the finest way? but it's working!

swishniak
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Post by swishniak » Mon Sep 22, 2008 11:46 am

whoah - you're using the outputs on the ultralite (11-12) and patching them back into the soundcard for reverb?

seems like one should be able to do this from within the cue mix software, but not sure.

i finally got my ultralite and am happy with it, but cant get my brain around the cue mix software. anyone know of any alternative manuals / tutorials on this thing?

samtastic
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:03 pm

Re: Motu Ultralite MK-3 Reverb routing

Post by samtastic » Wed Sep 23, 2015 3:51 pm

it took me ages to work it out, but this is how i got the MOTU's reverb working within Live...


so, i've found that in my case, the MOTU's reverb returns on Live's inputs 13 & 14... this seems to be a dedicated virtual channel to the reverb unit's output.

and i'm using output 5 in Live to send to the MOTU's reverb. so in Live, i've got a return channel set-up using the External Effect Device, with Audio To 5 and Audio From 13/14... this way, i can control from within Live what is being sent to the reverb unit and how much.

to get this to work with the MOTU, i've got a patch cable running from output 5 to input 7 on the back of the MOTU. And using the MOTU's CueMix FX software, in the INPUTS tab, i've got channel 7 sending to the reverb unit, using the 'VERB SND' pot at the bottom of the input channel (make sure you've got the reverb unit turned on, in its own tabbed section).

And that's it.... so, in my case, whatever is physically hooked up to input 7 on the rear of the MOTU Ultralite MkIII will be sent to its internal reverb unit... and in my case, that's a patchcable from Output 5, which is where Live is sending audio via an External Effects Device in one of its return channels.


the only thing that's missing in this case, is the ability to control the reverb unit's parameters from within Live... mmmm, that would be nice... anyone know of a way to do this?


hope this helps someone! it was driving me mad! thankfully it's a very nice sounding reverb:)

cotdagoo
Posts: 1041
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: Motu Ultralite MK-3 Reverb routing

Post by cotdagoo » Fri Sep 25, 2015 12:30 am

Thanks for posting that. I've been curious about using the DSP stuff, but had plenty of reverb plugins to keep me ignorant about figuring out the routing and messing with cuemix :)

Post Reply