All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How Do I Conserve Disk Drive Space when Recording Into Live
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 7:08 am 
If Live uses non-destructive editing, then how can I conserve space when making loops?
I only have a 20gig hard drive and I want to play my guitar into Live for 5 bars, then trim it down to a 4bar loop. But I don't want to keep the
un-used portion that I trimmed away.
How do I solve this problem?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How Do I Conserve Disk Drive Space when Recording Into
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 3:52 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 4:09 am
Posts: 1148
Location: MA
Guest wrote:
If Live uses non-destructive editing, then how can I conserve space when making loops?
I only have a 20gig hard drive and I want to play my guitar into Live for 5 bars, then trim it down to a 4bar loop. But I don't want to keep the
un-used portion that I trimmed away.
How do I solve this problem?


You'll need an editing program other than Live. Anyone will do. Point Live to it in Preferences(this is all covered in the manual by the way). Double click your clip in the Session so you can see the waveform at the bottom. press the edit button. Live will launch your editing software. edit to your liking. save it. that's it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thank you
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 5:28 pm 
thank you , I don't know what I was thinking.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 5:55 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 11:38 pm
Posts: 123
Location: San Diego, CA
Does anyone know of a freeware (or cheap) editor that I could use for this purpose that is Live and Mac compatible?

_________________
http://www.thecolortvs.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Shareware
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 6:52 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 5:15 pm
Posts: 28
Location: San Francisco
There is a great, simple, shareware editor for Mac called Jasmine. There is a 60 trial available for download (www.kumulipo.com) and the full version costs $39.95 US. For PC, I don't know- I use BIAS Peak which is also Mac only... try doing a search in the Downloads area on cnet.com maybe.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 6:56 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2002 12:10 pm
Posts: 78
Location: philadelphia
hey, I just downloaded TC Works Spark ME, freeware, native OSX only. I haven't tried it with live, but I'm hoping it will work. I'd also like to know what others are using in OSX.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 7:37 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 4:09 am
Posts: 1148
Location: MA
i actually use QuickTime which isn't the best, no waveform display. Sound Studio 2 is a good simple wave editor for OSX and can be gotten from http://www.download.com it's free to try and $50 to buy. you can save with the demo so the free one should be fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 8:02 am 

Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 2:36 am
Posts: 21
I currently use Sound Forge 6 and upgraded from an older version of Wavelab. But my question is how are you guys able to trim the sample to the "loop", my sample editing program does not display the loop or left/right markers? does yours? This would be so helpful to me if I could find a way to have sound forge display the bars like Live does. Or if it was possible to display the loop so I can just perform a trim. Any ideas? Are the macOS programs allowing you guys to do this?

systek


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group