(OSX) Multiple instances of Apple effects causes glitches?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
condra
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:03 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

(OSX) Multiple instances of Apple effects causes glitches?

Post by condra » Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:26 am

Hi guys.

Sometimes when I use more than one instance of an Apple effect, such as AU MATRIX REVERB, (or indeed the DLS device), it results in distortion and clicking.

It especially happens if I try to use more than one reverb (including the DLS inbuilt reverb) - the reverb ends up going all grainy and lofi.

Leopard 10.5.5, Ableton Live 7. It doesnt happen in Logic but does in Live..

Does anyone else have this problem?

Cheers.

Tarekith
Posts: 17370
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Mon Oct 20, 2008 2:12 am

Just tried it here and it's working fine. USed the standard DSL piano with reverb, added 4 matrix reverbs after it and it was playing with no problems. The reverb goes to shit if I start clipping the channel by turning the reverb up too much, but I assume you've checked that.

womoma
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 2:57 am
Contact:

Post by womoma » Mon Oct 20, 2008 2:49 am

Thanks man. That's really weird.

It happens about 9 out of 10 times here.

condra
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:03 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Post by condra » Mon Oct 20, 2008 2:51 am

^ 2 year old username FAIL :(

Tarekith
Posts: 17370
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:05 am

Send me a copy of the poject it's happening on if you want, I'll try it for you.

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:09 am

works fine for me too 10.5.5

kuniklo
Posts: 721
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:02 pm

Post by kuniklo » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:08 am

Confirmed. Try running multiple instances of DLS on a multi-core machine.

condra
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:03 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Post by condra » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:13 am

kuniklo wrote:Confirmed. Try running multiple instances of DLS on a multi-core machine.
kuniklo thanks for taking the time to check that out.
Send me a copy of the poject it's happening on if you want, I'll try it for you.
Cheers but it happens on all projects.

Anyway, its not a major deal as I don't often use Apples reverb, or the DLS, and when I use the DLS, I can easily turn down the reverb volume on it, and things then sound fine.

Still, its kinda weird.

kuniklo
Posts: 721
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:02 pm

Post by kuniklo » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:34 am

I'm guessing the DLS code isn't thread safe.

Pasha
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Post by Pasha » Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:26 am

Confirmed here as well. Tiger 10.4.11 and Leopard 10.5.3.

- Best
- Pasha
Apple Desktop / Laptop
Live 9 Suite,Zebra 2.6,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

oblique strategies
Posts: 3578
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: (OSX) Multiple instances of Apple effects causes glitche

Post by oblique strategies » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:38 pm

condra wrote:Sometimes when I use more than one instance of an Apple effect, such as AU MATRIX REVERB, (or indeed the DLS device), it results in distortion and clicking.

It especially happens if I try to use more than one reverb (including the DLS inbuilt reverb) - the reverb ends up going all grainy and lofi.
Do you mean more than one AU MATRIX REVERB in a single channel (audio passing through multiple instances), or per session?

:?:

Post Reply