Piano Roll: How to split a note in half or anwhere along it

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
ava
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:47 am
Location: Bristol, England, UK

Piano Roll: How to split a note in half or anwhere along it

Post by ava » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:21 am

How do you split a note in half in the piano roll?
Thanks.

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Post by UKRuss » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:25 am

Melodically or rhythmically?

melodically, notes are what they are. In the western system anyway, for microtonals you gotta get accurate with your pitch bend wheel.

Rhythmically, you can select the grid split by right clicking and then clicking from 1/16 to 1/32 (or whatever you choose), then drag the end point of your note back to accomodate one section in the new grid, halving it's length.

ava
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:47 am
Location: Bristol, England, UK

Post by ava » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:33 am

So theres no knife tool then?

In fruity loops theres a knife tool you can use, even diagonal across many notes.

Watch this video, pretty simple cool stuff.
http://www.warbeats.com/Forums/tabid/59 ... fault.aspx

nathannn
Posts: 3310
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

Post by nathannn » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:41 am

ava wrote:So theres no knife tool then?

In fruity loops theres a knife tool you can use, even diagonal across many notes.

Watch this video, pretty simple cool stuff.
http://www.warbeats.com/Forums/tabid/59 ... fault.aspx
yeah, there is no knife tool..
fl does have the best piano roll available the rest of the program is amateurish but they did get it right with that.
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

ava
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:47 am
Location: Bristol, England, UK

Post by ava » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:51 am

Live needs a knife tool to improve my workflow.

nathannn
Posts: 3310
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

Post by nathannn » Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

ava wrote:Live needs a knife tool to improve my workflow.
ok, i will add one for ya.
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

snakedogman
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: the Netherlands

Post by snakedogman » Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:08 am

Live's midi editing could do with a bit more features in general I think.

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Post by UKRuss » Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:35 am

yeah....tis the way it is though.

Michael Hatsis
Posts: 1807
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Here and There
Contact:

Post by Michael Hatsis » Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:49 am

The way the length of Notes work is based on the grid size. so shrink the grid size with ctrl+1 then drag the note shorter...also, Ctrl + 2 to increase grid.
an easy way to work is to keep the grid size real small and drag the note sizes around. Im a wierdo, i much prefer this method to a scissors tool.

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Post by UKRuss » Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:16 am

ooooOoo, I didnt know about the ctrl 1 + 2 thing. Cool.

Opus
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

Post by Opus » Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:03 pm

i hope ableton doesn't rush to create a tool bar.
i do agree, ableton does need more editing tools, but if they do it like cubase does, it can get a bit tedious selecting tools all the time, unless of course they let you program one button shortcuts. I do miss some of the tools that Cubase has tho....

elxicano
Posts: 1464
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:57 am
Location: NYC

Post by elxicano » Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:39 pm

I've been wondering what the talk was about this feature in FL... pretty nice!

Machinesworking
Posts: 11082
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Machinesworking » Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:28 pm

mike@TrackTeam Audio wrote:The way the length of Notes work is based on the grid size. so shrink the grid size with ctrl+1 then drag the note shorter...also, Ctrl + 2 to increase grid.
an easy way to work is to keep the grid size real small and drag the note sizes around. Im a wierdo, i much prefer this method to a scissors tool.
Logic does both. It's a shortcoming of Live, along with no glue, volume, event editor etc.

dominicw78
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:57 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by dominicw78 » Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:53 pm

snakedogman wrote:Live's midi editing could do with a bit more features in general I think.
It's just sooo lacking, I really hope they improve with it with 8. They need a beat detective or regroove midi template maker, plus more precise quatise editing, more tools for automation editing.

I wouldn't think it would be the most difficult things to implement. We're up to version 7, long overdo don't you think?

Michael Hatsis
Posts: 1807
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Here and There
Contact:

Post by Michael Hatsis » Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:18 pm

Machinesworking wrote:
mike@TrackTeam Audio wrote:The way the length of Notes work is based on the grid size. so shrink the grid size with ctrl+1 then drag the note shorter...also, Ctrl + 2 to increase grid.
an easy way to work is to keep the grid size real small and drag the note sizes around. Im a wierdo, i much prefer this method to a scissors tool.
Logic does both. It's a shortcoming of Live, along with no glue, volume, event editor etc.
Again, Im glad there are no scissors or glue or paint buckets or gradient tools or whatever... Old paradigms that hopefully will die soon. Im not saying the Live way is the best way, but there are way better possible quick workflow solutions that could be implemented...

Post Reply