Newest MBP, FW410 works in Mac osx, but not in Windows XP??

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Vertical
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 2:58 am

Newest MBP, FW410 works in Mac osx, but not in Windows XP??

Post by Vertical » Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:16 pm

I just got a Macbook Pro and found that my FW410 works fine in Live under OSX, but freezes on Live startup in Windows. At first I though maybe it is the whole 'Agere' Firewire chipset issue, but if that were the case, why would it work under OSX? So it must be either a windows issue, bootcamp drivers issue (for the FW port), or something else software.

Any ideas of what to try?

Anyone have any luck using a FW410 on the latest MBP running windows?


I also found out through this process that NTFS handles freezes MUCH better than fat32. When using fat32, each freeze would cause all sorts of corrupted files that checkdisk would have to repair. Using NTFS, chkdisk wouldn't even come up.

Vertical
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 2:58 am

Post by Vertical » Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:14 pm

Well, after much experimenting and research, it turns out that Windows has chosen to not fully support FW800. So that port is basically useless in windows.

Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:16 pm

Vertical wrote:Well, after much experimenting and research, it turns out that Windows has chosen to not fully support FW800. So that port is basically useless in windows.
Windows has never supported FW800, has it?

.m

Vertical
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 2:58 am

Post by Vertical » Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:51 pm

Lo-Fi Massahkah wrote:
Vertical wrote:Well, after much experimenting and research, it turns out that Windows has chosen to not fully support FW800. So that port is basically useless in windows.
Windows has never supported FW800, has it?

.m
Doesn't seem like it does. And it doesn't even let me use the port at 400.

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:08 pm

:lol: so much for bootcamp

that's nasty

Post Reply