How do I deauthorize one of my "unlocks"?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
joeyjupiter
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:06 pm

How do I deauthorize one of my "unlocks"?

Post by joeyjupiter » Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:15 am

I got a new powerbook mac today and I will no longer be using my old one that had Live unlocked on it.

Can anyone walk me through this process?

thanx in advance

kleine
Posts: 1851
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 11:46 am
Location: ableton
Contact:

Re: How do I deauthorize one of my "unlocks"?

Post by kleine » Mon Jun 29, 2009 4:38 pm

Hello,

Delete the 'Unlock.cfg' file from /User/Library/Application Support/Ableton/Unlock
If you sell your old PB, i strongly recommend to reformat your HD.

best,
Christian

joeyjupiter
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:06 pm

Re: How do I deauthorize one of my "unlocks"?

Post by joeyjupiter » Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:15 am

thanx!

zlatko
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 3:34 pm

Re: How do I deauthorize one of my "unlocks"?

Post by zlatko » Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:20 pm

But does one regain his license just by deleting this file?
I would expect to have to run a de-authorizer that would also
tell ableton that it is uninstalled proper....
Who else has been sick of 4/4 for the last 10 years ??

www.zlatko.hu

joeyjupiter
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:06 pm

Re: How do I deauthorize one of my "unlocks"?

Post by joeyjupiter » Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:53 pm

I was thinking the same thing... So, does anyone know if one needs to run a de-authorizing app, or if said license can be re-gained?

Curious, thanks

R.A.W.
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: hamburg|de
Contact:

Re: How do I deauthorize one of my "unlocks"?

Post by R.A.W. » Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:41 pm

afaik you don't get the unlock back, but you can register another computer with the abes.. at some point it might be locked, then you just write an email to the support.

i'd love to have an option in my user-account to do this, though. native instruments had such a system a while ago where you could register up to two computers and if you wanted to switch to another hardware, you just went to your account on their website and purged the license of the old hardware to use it with the new computer.
ThinkPad T500,Core 2 Duo T9600 (2x2,8GHz)/3GB RAM/Radeon HD3650/FireWire 410/WinXP SP3 32bit
AMD Phenom II X4 3.2GHz/4GB RAM/GeForce GTX460/ESI U24 XL/Win7 x64
Ableton Live 8/energyXT2/APC40/MPKmini/LaunchPad/TriggerFinger
http://www.bitmud.com

bip
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:53 am

Re: How do I deauthorize one of my "unlocks"?

Post by bip » Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:24 am

so it is definitive? do i have to write to the support?
i read somewhere that you can deauthorize a computer from the options menu
but can't find this.
i need to deauthorize a computer to transfer the unlock to my new one
thanks

uno1234
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:34 pm

Re: How do I deauthorize one of my "unlocks"?

Post by uno1234 » Tue May 25, 2010 6:02 pm

Ableton needs to fix this. I own 8 machines in my facility. We use pro tools on every machine. I am the only one here who even knows how to use ableton live. Yet i have to purchase extra licenses just so i can use ableton on whatever room is free? Stupid. They either need to figure out how to relock a machine or use an ilok and give us a main and a backup license. I would be happy to pay more money for the software to cover their ilok license fees.

ark
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: How do I deauthorize one of my "unlocks"?

Post by ark » Tue May 25, 2010 8:48 pm

uno1234 wrote:Ableton needs to fix this. I own 8 machines in my facility. We use pro tools on every machine. I am the only one here who even knows how to use ableton live. Yet i have to purchase extra licenses just so i can use ableton on whatever room is free? Stupid. They either need to figure out how to relock a machine or use an ilok and give us a main and a backup license. I would be happy to pay more money for the software to cover their ilok license fees.
Then why not negotiate a site license with them?

Locked