High cpu even with no play

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
l-rs
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:19 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

High cpu even with no play

Post by l-rs » Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:04 pm

Hi, Live 8.0.4... a basic set with some samples, some Impulse drums, a 303 fed from an external source and a string synth.

This gives 18 percent cpu usage even when it's not playing. 8O When I activate EXT (I use an external 707 as clock) the cpu goes to 38 percent (not playing yet) and then when I do start the set... it goes to 54-61 percent.

I just started my computer (XP) and I can't recall this same set being so high before. I hear occassional audio clicks due to the cpu load I guess. Other similar tracks hover around the 38 percent mark. More reasonable for this Core 2 Duo 3 GHz...

I hate this unpredictability. I have been in contact with Ableton over crackling that I sort of traced back to the EXT function. Had no problems in any version before say Live 7.0.10 (Ableton user since Live 5)

System runs in ASIO... and there's NOTHING to tweak there (I have tried everything already, triple quadruple times over)...

Any tips where to look next? The sets use only internal Ableton effects.

Cheers,
Lars
I've got some stuff here:
http://www.zuur.com/

Tone Deft
Posts: 23737
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: High cpu even with no play

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:28 pm

Live looks at how much CPU is remaining and tells you what percentage of that it's using. clearly your computer has a lot running on it already. clean up what's running in the background, shut the other apps down and tidy up your machine.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, guitars, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

Locked