Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
buffportion
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:11 pm

Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash?

Post by buffportion » Sun Sep 13, 2009 8:43 pm

Hi,

I've tried Rewiring Live 8.04 and Reason 3.04 on two different PCs - Live crashes on both, as soon as Reason is launched. Has anyone else had success with this setup? I have tried 32 and 64 bit flavours of windows, and several different compatibility modes. I suspect Rewire itself may be the problem, but hoping for some help...

cheers

mindjazz
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 11:41 pm

Re: Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash?

Post by mindjazz » Mon Sep 14, 2009 2:27 pm

I know I had major problems with Ableton 7 + Reason + Vista, whereby as soon as I tried to Open Reason everything would crash. This was fixed by a Vista update for Rewire, it may be the case that Rewire is not yet complatible with Windows 7 or no update has been released.

buzbywalk
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:20 am
Location: Ableton, New York
Contact:

Re: Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash?

Post by buzbywalk » Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:01 pm

Same problem here. Windows 7, Live 8.0.5, Reason 3.0.4 b547. Live crashes upon launch of Reason.

Atardecer
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 2:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash?

Post by Atardecer » Mon Sep 21, 2009 4:18 am

I thought that Windows 7 wasnt officially supported. If so there's your problem...

Aton
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:29 am

Re: Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash?

Post by Aton » Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:29 pm

Same problem here win7 64 + live 8.0.5 + Reason 3.0.4 + crash

:(

robkman
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:27 pm

Re: Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash?

Post by robkman » Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:52 pm

Hi I experience the same problem when launching Reason 3.04 with Live 7. Please inform if you have a solution or when you find a rewire patch for Win 7.

Tx
Rob

Aton
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:29 am

Re: Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash?

Post by Aton » Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:39 am

Has this been resolved? i contacted propellerheads a montha go and they suggested i go back to vista until windows 7 is officially supported. yeah right. It's not like they haven't had access to windows 7 for a year.

Aton
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:29 am

Re: Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash? (fixed)

Post by Aton » Fri Dec 04, 2009 7:19 pm

I just fixed this problem by finding an old version of rewire.dll in my Windows.old directory and replacing the one in: C:\Documents and Settings\myusername\Application Data

I don't know what that's all about :?

re:dream
Posts: 4562
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash?

Post by re:dream » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:53 pm

Just a quick note - I had exactly this same problem.

Live 8.2.6
Reason 3
Windows 7
Rewire recently installed

Every time I started Reason in slave mode, Live crashed.

I looked for and found an old version of rewire in my winsdows syswow64 folder

Moved that into my AppData folder

And (for now at least - touch wood!) it all seems to work perfectly...

abletonmaschineserato
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:30 pm

Re: Live + Reason + Windows 7 = crash?

Post by abletonmaschineserato » Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:24 pm

I think this problem only exists with reason 3. fork out the cash for an update to 4,5, or 6. And you wont have the problem. If you don't want to do that, then its your loss. cuz reason 3 can't touch any of the later versions.

Locked