No "Solo" or "mute" using keyboard?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
digid
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:29 pm

No "Solo" or "mute" using keyboard?

Post by digid » Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:59 am

I am trying to see if I can export my workflow from Logic Express 9 to Ableton Live 8.1, first and foremost because I am a MaxMSP user being pretty tempted by the possibilities of joining Live and the latter.

However, one of biggest obstacles seem to be treating Live as a DAW of sorts. I am not making using that contain beats, it's pretty free-flowing and non-metric.

One of the not so pleasant surprises is that it isn't possible to just use a key to mute/unmute and solo/unsolo any track.

I can't find much about this in the manual, so is this really so?
Listen to my lovely electroacoustics on Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/digidada

jok
Posts: 1412
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:56 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No "Solo" or "mute" using keyboard?

Post by jok » Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:25 pm

Hi Digid,

the F1-F8 keys are muting/unmuting tracks. You can assign keys to almost any parameter in Live (including the Solo buttons) with Live´s Keymapping function.

Best,
Jörg
ableton support team
support@ableton.com

digid
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:29 pm

Re: No "Solo" or "mute" using keyboard?

Post by digid » Tue Dec 01, 2009 3:57 pm

jok wrote:Hi Digid,

the F1-F8 keys are muting/unmuting tracks. You can assign keys to almost any parameter in Live (including the Solo buttons) with Live´s Keymapping function.

Best,
Jörg
But if I want to mute track 9 or 12 or 14, the F-keys won't work? I never work with just eight tracks.

I tried the keymapping, but since each key has to be unique to each track you want to solo, you'd have to come up with 20 different keys if you want a way to solo each track. Not very user or keyboard-friendly. ;)
Also, if you delete track 3, the key assigned to solo track 3 disappears ... This means you would constantly have to assign and re-assign keys whenver you delete an audio or midi track.

The normal way to do this in a DAW is to for example use the "S" key to solo the track you have currently chosen, so that you don't have to use unique keys.
Listen to my lovely electroacoustics on Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/digidada

Per Boysen
Posts: 1057
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:11 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: No "Solo" or "mute" using keyboard?

Post by Per Boysen » Thu May 13, 2010 12:10 pm

jok wrote:Hi Digid,

the F1-F8 keys are muting/unmuting tracks. You can assign keys to almost any parameter in Live (including the Solo buttons) with Live´s Keymapping function.

Best,
Jörg
I'm afraid this is not true. I have the latest version of Live here and learning a computer keyboard key to a track's solo button. When pressing that button the track is not going into solo mode. But the meter at the upper right corner does correctly display the incoming learned key.

I see this discussion was up half a year ago and find it sad that this bug is not fixed yet. Any news on this in the pipeline?

(edit)
After posting this I took deeper look and it seems that even more Track Mixer functions are broken regarding computer Key Learn! I checked the Return Track Send knobs. Recently Ableton announced that development of new features shall be halted to favor bug fixes and I hope this issue is on your work bench by now. Meanwhile I have no other choice than to tell clients about what does work and what does not work in Live. Some chose Live anyway but some pick another application for their project.
Greetings from Sweden

Per Boysen
http://www.perboysen.com

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No "Solo" or "mute" using keyboard?

Post by Amaury » Thu May 13, 2010 1:31 pm

Per Boysen wrote: I'm afraid this is not true. I have the latest version of Live here and learning a computer keyboard key to a track's solo button. When pressing that button the track is not going into solo mode. But the meter at the upper right corner does correctly display the incoming learned key.

I see this discussion was up half a year ago and find it sad that this bug is not fixed yet. Any news on this in the pipeline?

(edit)
After posting this I took deeper look and it seems that even more Track Mixer functions are broken regarding computer Key Learn! I checked the Return Track Send knobs. Recently Ableton announced that development of new features shall be halted to favor bug fixes and I hope this issue is on your work bench by now. Meanwhile I have no other choice than to tell clients about what does work and what does not work in Live. Some chose Live anyway but some pick another application for their project.
Hello,

Just to make sure, isn't the "MIDI computer keyboard" icon ON, on the right hand side of the transport? I'm asking, because in 8.1.3, mapping a computer key to a track's solo button works here, on PC.

If it's not ON for you, please send me a Live set demonstrating your problem together with your computer details.

Regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

Per Boysen
Posts: 1057
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:11 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: No "Solo" or "mute" using keyboard?

Post by Per Boysen » Thu May 13, 2010 1:53 pm

@Amaury,

You are perfectly right! The MIDI Keyboard icon was selected and I did not notice because I never use this function myself. And also because in other software there usually pops up some virtual keyboard GUI when activating this. What a relief that Live really works as expected in this regard!

Thank you for the quick answer! This is going to make a lot of people happy today. :-) Glad I did a search and bumped this six months old thread.
Greetings from Sweden

Per Boysen
http://www.perboysen.com

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No "Solo" or "mute" using keyboard?

Post by Amaury » Thu May 13, 2010 2:45 pm

Hi,

Glad you found the cause. Please don't tell your client about this one not working ;)

Regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

Per Boysen
Posts: 1057
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:11 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: No "Solo" or "mute" using keyboard?

Post by Per Boysen » Thu May 13, 2010 2:53 pm

LOL! No, Live is the very best choice for this particular tour project.
Greetings from Sweden

Per Boysen
http://www.perboysen.com

Per Boysen
Posts: 1057
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:11 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: No "Solo" or "mute" using keyboard?

Post by Per Boysen » Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:18 am

.
Greetings from Sweden

Per Boysen
http://www.perboysen.com

Locked