Audio stops on master channel - PLEASE HELP!

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
Kaution
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:53 pm

Audio stops on master channel - PLEASE HELP!

Post by Kaution » Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:21 am

I have searched the forums for this topic and have found somewhat similar problems, but none exactly like this. I am having a rather disturbing problem occur when playing LIVE. The past 6 gigs we played, the audio stopped playing on the master channel which has caused a complete audio drop out in the middle of live performances. It's horribly frustrating and completely embarrassing. The levels on all of the other tracks show that they are still playing however there are no levels on the master channel. Sometimes the audio will just cut back in after 20 seconds or so, but other times it's just dead. I've had the EXACT same problem with versions 8.0.4, 8.0.5, 8.0.9, and 8.1.1, and I have even tried 3 different sound cards thinking that might be the issue (1 Firewire, 2 USB). I am running a brand new MacBook Pro with nothing loaded on it but Ableton, and using the APC40 as my controller. During our live sets we aren't using any 3rd party applications or VST's so the only thing we are playing are .wav clips and tracks which screams out that it's a problem with Ableton, and not the computer or any other hardware/software. PLEASE HELP!!!

Kaution
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:53 pm

Re: Audio stops on master channel - PLEASE HELP!

Post by Kaution » Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:20 pm

Staff - PLEASE help. We have another gig this upcoming Wednesday and can't afford for this to happen again.

tlennon
Posts: 1627
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:58 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Audio stops on master channel - PLEASE HELP!

Post by tlennon » Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:30 am

It seems that you are the only one with this issue out of all the licenses that Ableton has sold. I wouldn't be suprised that they can't reproduce this and have insufficient information about your system and the cause of the problem. There is not even an error log for review and your description seems bias. I would try to re-install version 7.x if you had success and use the backup versions of your songs. Good luck anyway.
Terrence Lennon
Image

arielgraff
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 2:43 pm

Re: Audio stops on master channel - PLEASE HELP!

Post by arielgraff » Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:02 am

What is truly appalling is the lack of attention in all of these threads...even though it is clearly a very hard problem to diagnose and points to a problem with the PC, I am shocked that most posts in here go unanswered by mods or support.

Just disgusting.

kleine
Posts: 1851
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 11:46 am
Location: ableton
Contact:

Re: Audio stops on master channel - PLEASE HELP!

Post by kleine » Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:44 am

Hello Kaution and arielgraff,

Please see: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=101830

If you experience a particular problem that requires complex
troubleshooting or research, please contact support@ableton.com
directly. Make sure you include the information and files listed here:

http://www.ableton.com/pages/support_contact

Best,
Christian

Skylark
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 3:32 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Audio stops on master channel - PLEASE HELP!

Post by Skylark » Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:36 pm

They do try help, but unfortunately that doesn't always help us.

goodluck bro
Ableton + Akai MPD24 = MORE FIRE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cELP3_BnNp4

Peace be with you!

http://www.soundcloud.com/tehsynes

taximouse
Posts: 370
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:05 am
Location: the woods, north
Contact:

Re: Audio stops on master channel - PLEASE HELP!

Post by taximouse » Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:51 pm

hm, this does sound similar to what I'm experiencing when I route to another track with an AU plugin in it.

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... 6#p1072626

the "fix" for me is to close and restart Ableton
MacBook Pro 2.93 Ghz, early 2009, 4GB RAM
OS 10.5.8
Live 8.1.4
Motu Ultralite + FCB1010 + SooperLooper + cello


twitter: zoecello
http://www.zoekeating.com

Locked