groove library

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
Thomas
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 1:29 pm
Location: Rotterdam, NL

groove library

Post by Thomas » Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:59 pm

hi, i'm using the ableton 8 suite demo but i'm missing the groove library.
cant seem to find the download on the website, is it there or will i have to do without?

thanks

Angstrom
Posts: 14645
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: groove library

Post by Angstrom » Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:16 pm

this seems unlikely. I'm sure the demo is pretty much the same thing as the actual purchased app.

press the groove marble, it's the wibbly lines in a circle at the bottom left of the browser.
This will open the groove pool, the currently used grooves. Most likely your pool will be empty.

Right click in that empty space and choose the single entry "browse groove library"
this is just a shortcut to the Library folder Library/Grooves.

open that folder when it appears in the browser.
Is it really empty? It should have a lot of subfolders with grooves in

Thomas
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 1:29 pm
Location: Rotterdam, NL

Re: groove library

Post by Thomas » Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:02 pm

my grooves folder is totally empty, as well as in ableton as on my harddrive.
Weeiiirrddd, so it's true that i cant download them anywhere?
I've got 2 more days of demo and would love to try them out

ShelLuser
Posts: 3572
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: groove library

Post by ShelLuser » Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:29 pm

You can always download (and install) some free live packs. Like KJ Sawka's mad beatz or the Latin Percussion, those also install stuff in your groove library.

But I agree with the previous poster; your library shouldn't be empty. Check if you didn't do anything peculiar to it (ever changed its location perhaps?). Might even want try going to your library settings and selecting "repair library".

Still; easiest solution for now is to grab those livepacks I suppose. Should you ever decide on grabbing the full version I'd definitely advice you to start from scratch again.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the Big Trio: Live 9 Suite, Max5 / M4l and Reason 6.5.
Blog: SynthFan

Thomas
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 1:29 pm
Location: Rotterdam, NL

Re: groove library

Post by Thomas » Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:36 pm

hmmm yeah

strange stuff, i'll try those live packs but i really want to try out the mpc grooves, i've got the hots for those, haha
I never changed the library location, i installed the demo, made the library, left it there.
All i ever did was put some stuff in the sample folder

djkilldyl
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:01 am

Re: groove library

Post by djkilldyl » Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:57 am

I bought Ableton and my groove pool is also empty. Having a hard time finding where to download the files as well.

Angstrom
Posts: 14645
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: groove library

Post by Angstrom » Thu Sep 22, 2011 1:47 pm

your groove pool is not where your groove Library lives, it's where the current set's grooves are listed.

So the groove pool will always be empty until you load a groove from the library


press this icon (in the image),
all of a sudden you will see the library of grooves,
pick a groove from one of the folders
use the groove pool to adjust how it affects the set
Image

yeah, it's a weird method, and I have no idea why they hid the button like that. But once you figure it out the groove thang is good.

djkilldyl
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:01 am

Re: groove library

Post by djkilldyl » Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:25 am

Yeah I tried that and its still empty. There must be something I haven' t downloaded. I'll keep looking.

2bittank
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:38 pm

Re: groove library

Post by 2bittank » Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:29 pm

ive owned live for a few years. never had the problem untill i guess last install. it was a fresh install, done when i got komplete 8 ultimate about a month or two ago. just recently looked for grooves to edit some old midi beats i have and i cant find it. library folder containing grooves -- empty. im frustrated.

DJRYAN
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 12:23 pm

Re: groove library

Post by DJRYAN » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:03 pm

All you'll need to do is re-install your libraries. To do this, goto "options", "preferences", "library", and then click "repair library".

It should pick up where the .zip files are automatically and begin the install process.

After its complete you'll have all the "grooves" along with any Live Packs that may or maynot have come with your version of Live.

Please let us know if this feedback has helped.

2bittank
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:38 pm

Re: groove library

Post by 2bittank » Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:37 pm

sorry for the long reply. lost the thread :P

well anyways. i tried what you suggested. no dice. im gonna just try an uninstall and reinstall of all my live shit i guess... ugh

Locked