All times are UTC

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
 Post subject: my recorded wav sounds terrible
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:48 am 

Hello. I have been trying to export audio out as a wave from a live session, and the sound quality is terrible. I found a few posts that were close to my issue, but more specific and the language that was used was over my head. I am relatively new to all this and couldnt tell you what to dither means, so I apologize in advance if this is a somewhat retarded question.

Here are my specs:

OS Name Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium
Version 6.0.6002 Service Pack 2 Build 6002
System Manufacturer Acer
System Model Aspire 6930G
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5800 @ 2.00GHz, 2000 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 3.99 GB
Available Physical Memory 272 MB
Total Virtual Memory 8.17 GB

Sound -
Name Realtek High Definition Audio
Manufacturer Realtek
Status OK
PNP Device ID HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_1025015E&REV_1002\4&158CBE3A&0&0001

Name NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Manufacturer NVIDIA
Status OK
PNP Device ID HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10DE&DEV_0006&SUBSYS_10DE0101&REV_1000\4&158CBE3A&0&0301

Name USB Audio Device
Manufacturer (Generic USB Audio)
Status OK
PNP Device ID USB\VID_09E8&PID_0073&MI_00\6&1BE45E0E&0&0000

I am using live 8.1.1 and attempting to just record a session directly to my hard drive as a wav file. I am using no external devices or recording hardware, just live and my laptop. I do use the Echo IndigoDJ card for audio out when performing but not in this case.
To export after the session is recorded I select the entire scene on the arrangement view, export as wave, 44100, bit depth 16, and no dithering.

The settings in my preferences are:

under recording :
file type - wav
bit depth - 24
count in - none
exclusive - arm and solo highlighted