Load session via MIDI?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
akido
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:20 pm
Contact:

Load session via MIDI?

Post by akido » Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:07 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to find information on this:
is it possible to load songs via MIDI program changes? In other words, is there any way to load a LIVE session without having to use a mouse or cpu keyboard?

many thanks


_aK

taximouse
Posts: 371
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:05 am
Location: the woods, north
Contact:

Re: Load session via MIDI?

Post by taximouse » Sat Apr 24, 2010 5:52 am

I use midi-triggered applescripts in an application called MidiPipe

Each midi button will open a specific set

Also, I have a midi button mapped to a script that saves the currently open file. That way I'm not stuck with a save dialog box in between every song.

It feels kludgy but it works.

here's the applescript for launching the sets....

on runme(message)
if (item 1 of message = 194) then -- program event on ch3, +/- 1 for each channel

if (item 2 of message = 120) then -- BANK 4, button 5
set theFile to alias "Macintosh HD:Users:computername:path:set_name1.als"
tell application "Finder"
open theFile
end tell
end if

if (item 2 of message = 121) then -- BANK 4, button 4
set theFile to alias "Macintosh HD:Users:computername:path:set_name2.als"
tell application "Finder"
open theFile
end tell
end if
end if
end runme



this is for saving the currently open set....


on runme(message)
if (item 1 of message = 194) then -- program event on ch3, +/- 1 for each channel
if (item 2 of message = 99) then -- BANK 4, button 8
tell application "Live"
activate

tell application "System Events"
keystroke "s" using command down
end tell
end tell
end if

end if
end runme
MacBook Pro 2.93 Ghz, early 2009, 4GB RAM
OS 10.5.8
Live 8.1.4
Motu Ultralite + FCB1010 + SooperLooper + cello


twitter: zoecello
http://www.zoekeating.com

akido
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Load session via MIDI?

Post by akido » Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:05 pm

thanks!

i'll check it out, although it's a bit complicated for me. i know almost nothing about scripts.

i'm surprised ableton hasn't got a simple way to do this.

Locked