Sharing audio effects between 2 tracks.

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
LightFireSound
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 2:18 pm

Sharing audio effects between 2 tracks.

Post by LightFireSound » Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:32 pm

Hey, I'm new so go easy on me.

I have recently starting using Ableton for DJing and love it!

Especially with my Akai APC 40 making it so easy to control effects.

My question is though...

Is there a way to have one Audio effects rack linked to 2 tracks?

I know I can put the same effects in both tracks but when I manipulate the effects with the APC40 on one track but I want it to either duplicate what I'm doing on the other track or just have 2 tracks linked to one set of Audio Effect...

It's probably something really basic and simple but any help appreciated. :mrgreen:

kleine
Posts: 1851
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 11:46 am
Location: ableton
Contact:

Re: Sharing audio effects between 2 tracks.

Post by kleine » Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:56 pm

Hello,

Usually the return tracks are made for this purpose.

Best,
Christian

simonlb
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: Sharing audio effects between 2 tracks.

Post by simonlb » Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:30 pm

Create a group track with both the tracks inside it.

LightFireSound
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 2:18 pm

Re: Sharing audio effects between 2 tracks.

Post by LightFireSound » Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:57 pm

If I group tracks will I still be able to set them to 'A' and 'B' and use crossfader?

(I'm at work at the moment so can't check, even though I'm sure it does work)

Thanks for the quick replies :wink:

LightFireSound
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 2:18 pm

Re: Sharing audio effects between 2 tracks.

Post by LightFireSound » Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:48 am

I tried the groups method last night and it did work for what I was asking, but I agree the sends option is probably a better way of doing it.

I just wanted this because when I triggered a new song on my APC it would then set the control nobs to control that tracks effects, which made it confusing when I wanted to apply effects whilst fading to new track.

Locked