Bug: 8.1.3 does not remember MIDI controller ranges on VSTs

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
timday
Posts: 538
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Bug: 8.1.3 does not remember MIDI controller ranges on VSTs

Post by timday » Sun Jun 13, 2010 6:08 pm

Example: I have tied a MIDI controller to "Semitone tune" in Schwa "Olga". I want the range to be 0 to +12. The range of the control on the synth is -12 to +12, so I have set the MIDI controller range in Ableton so that min= 0.5 and max=1. This gives the control range I want.

Fine, but, when I save the set, the control range does not save. When I next open it min = 0 and max=1.

This is also the case on other VST instruments that I have tried. Ableton instruments are fine. Windows user so have not tried AUs!

No problems prior to 8.1.3.

This is really messing up my live set so any suggestions please?

WinXPSP3, Ableton 8.1.3, M Audio FW410.

timday
Posts: 538
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Bug: 8.1.3 does not remember MIDI controller ranges on VSTs

Post by timday » Sun Jun 13, 2010 6:16 pm

OK I found a workaruond - put the VST in an instrument rack and map the control to a macro, then Ableton will save the macro range. But still.......

Small Critters
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:46 pm

Re: Bug: 8.1.3 does not remember MIDI controller ranges on VSTs

Post by Small Critters » Sun Jun 13, 2010 6:40 pm

Hi,

this bug should be fixed in 8.1.4b2, see: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=142473

Cheers

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug: 8.1.3 does not remember MIDI controller ranges on VSTs

Post by julienb » Sun Jun 13, 2010 7:29 pm

I have this one : http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=144526
not sure but it seems related.

in my case, it unlinks (sometimes) the macro with the mapped parameters...
grrrrrrrrrrrrrr!
I didn't have it before and I NEED it :-(

Locked