unable to control metronome on/off with midi

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
taximouse
Posts: 370
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:05 am
Location: the woods, north
Contact:

unable to control metronome on/off with midi

Post by taximouse » Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:11 pm

here is a weird problem.

i have a foot pedal button mapped to the metronome in every set, so that i can turn the metronome on at the beginning of songs (i wish there was a pref to make it stay on, by the way)

in 8.1.4 i can no longer control the metronome with my foot pedal.

i can see the corresponding midi note coming in on the right channel in the midi monitor. and i can map and remap the note, which tells me Live is getting the message. and, all the other notes sent to various other controls in Live are working fine.

but no matter how many times i send the note that is supposed to turn the metronome on, nothing happens.

if I open the EXACT SAME SET in 8.1.3, the midi note controls the metronome just fine.

???
MacBook Pro 2.93 Ghz, early 2009, 4GB RAM
OS 10.5.8
Live 8.1.4
Motu Ultralite + FCB1010 + SooperLooper + cello


twitter: zoecello
http://www.zoekeating.com

jbodango
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: unable to control metronome on/off with midi

Post by jbodango » Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:16 am

taximouse-

I have issues like that as well and they have been driving me crazy for months, if not years.

For me it is using a foot pedal to set tempo. I have it set up in my default template. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I try to reassign it and it the little midi in light blinks, but it doesn't seem to stick. So I end up assigning the metronome on off to a note on my computer keyboard. Far from a workaround as its not very conducive when I have drumsticks or an instrument in my hand.

I have lost track on which versions it works and doesn't work. I can't find a pattern. I've tried clearing my preferences, starting from scratch with a new template, etc.

I've also noticed that sometimes the "computer midi keyboard" sometimes becomes magically enabled upon next start up. I check to make sure I don't have that mapped (I don't). Sometimes when it is enabled, other BPM/nudge mappings don't seem to work. I'm pretty baffled.

I also notice my default template doesn't behave the same on my laptop vs. my mac pro. I use the same the same MOTU travler and will have all the same devices etc, but only sometimes live will respond to my 'meternome on/off' and set tempos midi assignments.

taximouse
Posts: 370
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:05 am
Location: the woods, north
Contact:

Re: unable to control metronome on/off with midi

Post by taximouse » Mon Aug 02, 2010 4:36 pm

This is still occurring.

(yes I submitted a bug report)


Load set into 8.1.3 and I can turn the metronome on or off with a program change message
Load the exact same set into 8.1.4 and I cannot control the metronome with the program change message
MacBook Pro 2.93 Ghz, early 2009, 4GB RAM
OS 10.5.8
Live 8.1.4
Motu Ultralite + FCB1010 + SooperLooper + cello


twitter: zoecello
http://www.zoekeating.com

taximouse
Posts: 370
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:05 am
Location: the woods, north
Contact:

Re: unable to control metronome on/off with midi

Post by taximouse » Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:55 am

I'm still having this problem in 8.2

to recap:

I can turn the metronome on and off with a midi message (its a note message, not a program change as I wrote previously) when I am in 8.1.3

When I load the same set, or any set, into 8.2 I cannot control the metronome with midi

thanks!
MacBook Pro 2.93 Ghz, early 2009, 4GB RAM
OS 10.5.8
Live 8.1.4
Motu Ultralite + FCB1010 + SooperLooper + cello


twitter: zoecello
http://www.zoekeating.com

taximouse
Posts: 370
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:05 am
Location: the woods, north
Contact:

Re: unable to control metronome on/off with midi

Post by taximouse » Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:26 am

ok, now I can't control the metronome at all. its a real mystery!

midi control works in every other case.

when i go into midi map mode, i can select the metronome and press my controller button to set the mapping. (yes, i've tried other buttons that working to control other things, i even tried a different controller). the mapping "takes"

but then when i close midi map mode, the metronome does not respond to midi.

mystified why this stopped working all of a sudden. any ideas??
MacBook Pro 2.93 Ghz, early 2009, 4GB RAM
OS 10.5.8
Live 8.1.4
Motu Ultralite + FCB1010 + SooperLooper + cello


twitter: zoecello
http://www.zoekeating.com

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: unable to control metronome on/off with midi

Post by Pitch Black » Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:29 am

Not a fix per se, but record a metronome click to an audio track, or use a MIDI click in the meanwhile..?
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

taximouse
Posts: 370
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:05 am
Location: the woods, north
Contact:

Re: unable to control metronome on/off with midi

Post by taximouse » Fri Oct 08, 2010 2:11 am

ah, recording a click. there's an idea. ta!
MacBook Pro 2.93 Ghz, early 2009, 4GB RAM
OS 10.5.8
Live 8.1.4
Motu Ultralite + FCB1010 + SooperLooper + cello


twitter: zoecello
http://www.zoekeating.com

taximouse
Posts: 370
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:05 am
Location: the woods, north
Contact:

Re: unable to control metronome on/off with midi

Post by taximouse » Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:52 am

well, I'm trying to make a click that plays when I need it (I don't like it to run all the time) and put it into each of my sets.

HOWEVER, I'd really like to hear some ideas from Ableton as to what they think might cause this behavior. I just can't think of what it would be. I've tried mapping a slew of different kinds of messages to the metronome. I can map just fine, but when I go out of mapping mode the messages have no affect on the metronome whatsoever.

p.s. since no one else seems to have this problem, its entirely possible that its an error on my part...but I have not a clue.
MacBook Pro 2.93 Ghz, early 2009, 4GB RAM
OS 10.5.8
Live 8.1.4
Motu Ultralite + FCB1010 + SooperLooper + cello


twitter: zoecello
http://www.zoekeating.com

ShelLuser
Posts: 3873
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: unable to control metronome on/off with midi

Post by ShelLuser » Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:40 pm

For whats it worth.. Although I got an apc40 (so no need for me to mess with this since I have a button I can click) I tried midi mapping the metronome to my foot pedal (very simply on/off pedal).

It doesn't respond in turning the metronome on or off; but keeping the metronome on as long as I keep the pedal pressed. When I release the pedal the metronome also stops playing.

In a way I can understand how this works, but on the other hand its also kind off odd.

Dunno if this gives you guys any new insights, but figured I'd share anyway.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

Locked