save plug-in parameter configuration?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
p8guitar
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 7:15 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

save plug-in parameter configuration?

Post by p8guitar » Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:29 am

How do I save the parameter configuration of 3rd party plug-ins with a preset? I don't want to configure a plug-in again every time I insert a new instance.

Peter
Live 9.0.6; Push; Mac OS 10.8.5; MacBook Pro 2.4GHz/8GB Intel Core i7

[pgr]
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters

Re: save plug-in parameter configuration?

Post by [pgr] » Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:56 pm

Hi Peter,
you can save your particular collection of parameters by creating an Audio Effect Rack (or an Instrument-/MIDI Effect Rack if you are using such Plug-in-devices). Racks can be saved to your Library and loaded into other Sets. To create a Rack open the context menu of the Plug-in-device (ctrl-click the device's title-bar on Mac; right-click the device's title-bar on Windows) and choose the "Group" command.

Best,
Philipp

p8guitar
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 7:15 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: save plug-in parameter configuration?

Post by p8guitar » Thu Jul 29, 2010 4:51 pm

Hi Philipp,

thanks for the hint. But it would be nice if it worked without the rack workaround. Racks still have this evil habit that when you map a parameter to a macro, the parameter is set to zero. Ok, you don't have to map the parameters, but then it is more difficult to access them with the apc 40 when they are not at the first level of the rack.

[pgr]
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters

Re: save plug-in parameter configuration?

Post by [pgr] » Thu Jul 29, 2010 5:11 pm

Hi Peter,
I see what you mean and will add your concern to our wishlist.

Best regards,
Philipp

Warrior Bob
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:10 pm
Location: Central Coast, California
Contact:

Re: save plug-in parameter configuration?

Post by Warrior Bob » Thu Jul 29, 2010 5:13 pm

At least on Windows/Live 8.1.4 (what I'm using) there's a little "save" icon next to VST plugins that appears to let you save the patch in some format I'm unfamiliar with. Maybe this could help you?

mrksksks
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 9:46 pm

Re: save plug-in parameter configuration?

Post by mrksksks » Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:16 am

Up! Dont forget it for ableton 9! :D

Locked