APC20 not auto-mapped

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
meuby
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 9:57 pm

APC20 not auto-mapped

Post by meuby » Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:32 am

I just picked up an APC20 to use with Live 8. When I connect it and set the preferences as mentioned in the manual - it doesn't appear to be automapped. I can select the midi button in Live and manually map the faders and buttons, but everything I've read and watched led me to believe that it's a plug-it-in-and-go device.

One thing in the preferences - under control surface, there is no option for the APC20...the two dropdowns to the right of control surface allow me to select the APC20, but the actual control surface dropdown does not list it.

I'm sure I'm missing something simple - just don't know what.

jok
Posts: 1412
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:56 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: APC20 not auto-mapped

Post by jok » Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:49 am

Hi Meuby,

I assume you´re using an outdated version of Live 8 which does not yet contain support for the APC 20. Please download Live 8.1.5. from here to fix the problem:

www.ableton.com/latest_versions

Best,
Jörg
ableton support team
support@ableton.com

ShelLuser
Posts: 3607
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: APC20 not auto-mapped

Post by ShelLuser » Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:36 pm

And to expand on that a bit...

After you got the update here is a correct way to configure:

- Start Live and go to the midi preference section.
- Select the controller using the menu, input/output will be set automatically.
- You'll only need the 'remote' midi option for input/output.

After that you should be home free.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the Big Trio: Live 10 Suite + Push, Max8 / M4l and Reason 10
Blog: SynthFan

Locked