Is the MIDI Map display configurable for Notes?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
cluesome
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:22 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Is the MIDI Map display configurable for Notes?

Post by cluesome » Fri Nov 26, 2010 12:54 am

Is it possible to get Live to show note values as numbers rather than the musical notes notation?

So that NOTE C-2 would be NOTE 0, NOTE C#-2 would be NOTE 1, etc., etc..

The notation confuses me; I want to deal with data points. My controller is programmed with numbers so if I'm looking at the Map in Live and see I need to send a NOTE A#5, I'm like, what the hell number is that? Sometimes its a roll-buster to go away and find a conversion table?

Is it configurable?

Best.

P.s. NOTE A#5 is NOTE 94 for anyone interested.
2.16GHz C2D Macbook Pro
OS X 10.6.5.
Live 7 (7.0.18)
M-Audio FireWire Audiophile
BCR2000

cluesome
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:22 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Is the MIDI Map display configurable for Notes?

Post by cluesome » Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:27 pm

Bump
2.16GHz C2D Macbook Pro
OS X 10.6.5.
Live 7 (7.0.18)
M-Audio FireWire Audiophile
BCR2000

Ableton_David
Posts: 1766
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: Ableton
Contact:

Re: Is the MIDI Map display configurable for Notes?

Post by Ableton_David » Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:37 pm

Hi, cluesome, this is not possible in Live.

cluesome
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:22 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Is the MIDI Map display configurable for Notes?

Post by cluesome » Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:25 pm

Thanks for your reply.

How would I go about requesting this feature?

Best.
2.16GHz C2D Macbook Pro
OS X 10.6.5.
Live 7 (7.0.18)
M-Audio FireWire Audiophile
BCR2000

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Is the MIDI Map display configurable for Notes?

Post by outershpongolia » Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:05 pm

Grab a midi note chart, google it..

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Is the MIDI Map display configurable for Notes?

Post by outershpongolia » Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:16 pm

ShelLuser wrote:Maybe cliche'd but you could pick up on Max for Live and simply build it yourself ;-)

Shouldn't even be that hard to built either I think...

When it comes to adding features slightly out of the ordinary then in many cases M4L can prevail.
For only about $300?

It's only viable for people who already have it, and already have programming background..

You're not willing to stick it out and translate a few letters into numbers but you'll write a program to do it for you? seems back-ass-wards to me, but I'm just bein :mrgreen: today

Angstrom
Posts: 14700
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Is the MIDI Map display configurable for Notes?

Post by Angstrom » Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:24 pm

you can request it in the wishlist forum.

you can also hack this up with no purchase of M4L required.
it s bit of a hassle, but you will only have to do it once, and then you are fixed for life.
  1. Drop a MidiRack into a track.
  2. create a chain in the rack. You may need to drop a midi device in to do this, as midi racks dont have "create chain", but you can drop a pitch device in and then delete it.
  3. edit the name of this first chain to "0"
  4. go to the chain "Key" editor and set the ranges of just one note (C-2)(yeah, really)
  5. Now in the rack chain list right click and choose "show names in midi editor". Now when you look at the midi editor you will see the names you put in ... which are of course numbers
  6. So now, copy that first chain, rename it "1", edit the key range for this duplicate to (D-2)
  7. repeat until fingers bleed and eyeballs fall out, or all the notes are named
  8. Save this midi rack as "Midi Note Names/Numbers
time consuming, but whenever you need note numbers you can now just drop this rack into your track.
No need to buy anything, no need to wait for Ableton to implement a feature.

Image

cluesome
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:22 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Is the MIDI Map display configurable for Notes?

Post by cluesome » Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:02 pm

Ha ha, thanks for these ideas; you guys crack me up :lol:
2.16GHz C2D Macbook Pro
OS X 10.6.5.
Live 7 (7.0.18)
M-Audio FireWire Audiophile
BCR2000

Locked