Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
asheliza
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:19 pm

Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by asheliza » Mon Feb 14, 2011 11:31 pm

I am fairly a novice with Ableton and have two experiments that I am trying to use Live for.
#1 I am simply trying to remix some songs that I have all in the Frequency of 528 hz. Should i use the Frequency shifter with this and put the Amount to 528 HZ...is this actually then changing the entire song to this frequency. Is this correct or is there another way?

#2 I want to live process my voice through a microphone and put it out at 528Hz...How can I do this the simplest way?


Any help or examples that anyone can give me for this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
ash

Winterpark
Posts: 1671
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by Winterpark » Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:09 am

firstly, this question is genuinely funny.

if you want to hear what 528Hz sounds like... then go into Live's preferences, and click on the audio tab, then change the test tone frequency to 528 Hz.

another way to do it, would be to get the eq three device, and set the freq low to 527Hz, and the freq Hi to 529Hz, then turn both the Gain low and Gain Hi all the way down to -inf dB

good luck with your 528Hz remix.

:)
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

mbira
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 5:58 pm

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by mbira » Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:27 am

You know-632hZ is where it's really slammin' these days...

Bagatell
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Sierra Nevada, Spain

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by Bagatell » Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:26 am

Of course you'll have to use just pure sine waves so that you don't get any of those nasty non 528hz harmonics.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5082
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:43 am

asheliza wrote: #2 I want to live process my voice through a microphone and put it out at 528Hz...How can I do this the simplest way?
ash
process it with your body.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Forge.
Posts: 5792
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by Forge. » Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:18 pm

please tell me EvilEvilEvilEvil^ has returned? :D

MacGuffin
Posts: 1075
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:20 pm
Location: suburban nightmare
Contact:

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by MacGuffin » Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:33 pm

frequency shifter might work... but it's not the best for this.

I think you should start safely at 480hz and work your way up.

Forge.
Posts: 5792
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by Forge. » Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:50 pm

MacGuffin wrote:frequency shifter might work... but it's not the best for this.

I think you should start safely at 480hz and work your way up.
+1

the test tone would be perfect for this. Just set all of your sound reproduction equipment to the highest power levels they can go and start, actually maybe a bit lower than 480Hz.... maybe even 20Hz and then turn the volume of the test tone all the way up then gradually increase the frequency of the tone until dogs start to bark. When the dogs bark you are nearly there, but this is where you need patience. You have to leave it at that level until bats start throwing themselves at your windows. If they do this during daylight, even better, because it means you have superior sound reinforcement equipment. Sit in front of the speakers until the bats stop hitting the windows, then you can start to turn it down.

The ringing you now hear in your ears is completely natural and you shouldn't worry about it. You can always blot it out later with the test tone again.

This is the best thing about Ableton Live IMO is the test tone for these exact reasons.

HTH

dentaku
Posts: 612
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:42 am

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by dentaku » Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:21 pm

Maybe the original poster is trying to make an "explosive" mix becase 528Hz is C4.
Custom built quiet Intel E6700 based PC, Echo Mia MIDI, Win7 64bit, Akai MPK49, Akai LPD8, Korg nanoKONTROL (which I don't realy use anymore), Ableton Live, Reason

seattletruth
Posts: 402
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:20 am

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by seattletruth » Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:24 pm

abletontrainer.com wrote:


This is the best thing about Ableton Live IMO is the test tone for these exact reasons.

HTH
I dunno man, I prefer using Operator in the fixed setting for this kind of purpose, but whatever floats your boat I guess. And personally I'm more of a 480hz kind of guy... Call me weird, I know.

But seriously, once you put a trance gate on the 480hz and get some side chaining to make the frequency REALLY START TO BREATH and come to life, then thats when chicks start clawing at me. Call me the Pied Piper of hoes, the 480 really gets em wet...

As for vocals at the fixed frequency, I highly suggest investing in something professional like AutoTune. You can even trigger the notes by MIDI, just to make sure you have the right one. But make sure you use it in the Minor key. If you use Major it will just sound off for some reason...

Hope that helps.

Forge.
Posts: 5792
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by Forge. » Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:39 pm

seattletruth wrote:
abletontrainer.com wrote:


This is the best thing about Ableton Live IMO is the test tone for these exact reasons.

HTH
I dunno man, I prefer using Operator in the fixed setting for this kind of purpose, but whatever floats your boat I guess. And personally I'm more of a 480hz kind of guy... Call me weird, I know.

But seriously, once you put a trance gate on the 480hz and get some side chaining to make the frequency REALLY START TO BREATH and come to life, then thats when chicks start clawing at me. Call me the Pied Piper of hoes, the 480 really gets em wet...

As for vocals at the fixed frequency, I highly suggest investing in something professional like AutoTune. You can even trigger the notes by MIDI, just to make sure you have the right one. But make sure you use it in the Minor key. If you use Major it will just sound off for some reason...

Hope that helps.
nahhh you don't need to bother Operator with trifles like this! The test tone was BUILT for this job.

And bats respond better to the purity..... not talking about your hoes - they don't tell you nothing - can they hear over 60,000 Hz? No. In fact all they'll do is get in the way. Although I suppose if you're just going for that then fair play, but in the interests of science you really need the bats.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5082
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:08 pm

528 Hz is only available with m4l
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

stringtapper
Posts: 6275
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by stringtapper » Wed Feb 16, 2011 5:31 pm

Get the Stringtapper Deluxe 528Hz Sine Tone Generator Max for Live device now!

Automates the entire previously mentioned process, bats and all!

New low price of $528!!!*

* M4L Runtime not included.
Unsound Designer

josherman9
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:46 am

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by josherman9 » Fri Aug 19, 2011 2:14 pm

Load your audio sample into an audio track in session view. See the waveform? Ok now drop a frequency shifter onto your audio track followed by a default limiter. Now you'll want to type in 3.9 for +3.9% on the top dial.

Now you make sure you're at the begging of your track by pressing stop. Now export the freque thang as a 16 bit no dither, no normalizing.

As far as your voice, you could vocoder it with an operater. Just dry wet to taste.

Lol I did it to my chilling at home tracks :) I like it fine. Had to change my ipod settings but I like it much¿

The12stringman
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:47 pm

Re: Help with changing Frequency to 528Hz

Post by The12stringman » Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:07 pm

Perhaps he's looking to do this type of music:

http://www.redicecreations.com/specialr ... eggio.html

Locked