Midi In From UC33 - But CC's Are Not Mapping??

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
Myrrdin
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 1:14 pm

Midi In From UC33 - But CC's Are Not Mapping??

Post by Myrrdin » Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:04 pm

Hi - I just got a UC33 off a friend. In Ableton, I have my MIDI preferences set to accept "track" and "remote"from the UC33. No control surface is selected. In the top right, when I send CC messages from the uc33, the yellow light flashes, indicating that there's incoming track midi messages. However, nothing is mapping to any parameter. I put the UC33 in Control Surface mode, and there was random things that were automatically linked (third knob from the left being linked to the volume slider of track1 ? not intuitive at all). I know I am getting CC messages from the UC33, as the [ctlin] object in MaxMSP is picking up messages from the device. Why is Live not mapping the CC values I am sending it?

8O
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Midi In From UC33 - But CC's Are Not Mapping??

Post by 8O » Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:24 pm

Hi,

First off, I'd do a factory reset on the UC-33 just to ensure that any weird MIDI settings are reset - think it's hold down + and - and switch on (but check the manual if that doesn't work).

Also, check your MIDI preferences in Live, do you have both track in and remote in enabled for the UC-33 in the MIDI device list (below the control surface section).
Image

Myrrdin
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 1:14 pm

Re: Midi In From UC33 - But CC's Are Not Mapping??

Post by Myrrdin » Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:52 pm

thanks! did the factory reset, rechecked my midi settings and saw 'remote' was only selected for port2 but not port1. working now. i appreciate the help!

8O
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Midi In From UC33 - But CC's Are Not Mapping??

Post by 8O » Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:01 pm

8)
Image

lovelight
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi In From UC33 - But CC's Are Not Mapping??

Post by lovelight » Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:52 pm

try in prefc, midi, the first 2 ins to bcf2000, and mackie control, the next 2 outs to your uc33, i think it called
makci emulation, but when il do it i can set cc

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... tion+uc33e

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... with+uc33e

Locked