a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
mangulicafm
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:22 am

a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by mangulicafm » Tue Jul 26, 2011 5:45 pm

please help me, it is urgent...

when im using these two in a combo i have problems with mapping...
a button in user mode1 on launchpad which is supposed to trigger a pad on drumrack mutes a channel like it is a button on the apc20; in user mode2 a button which is supposed to control beat repeat acts like a button from apc20 and turns on the effect etc. etc.

nemoy
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:45 pm
Contact:

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by nemoy » Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:11 pm

What says your midi preferences window?
if you use an APC20, you might want to deactivate the "remote" option for the launchpad.
I guess if you use the APC, you'll need the launchpad in user mode 1 only, right?
and in this case you can just activate the "track" option only, for the launchpad...

does that make any sense? :)
Cheers!
nemoy

mangulicafm
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:22 am

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by mangulicafm » Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:51 am

thanks! it makes a lot of sense, i'll try it in a minute :) i'm using launchpad in user1 and user2 modes :)

Bainesy
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by Bainesy » Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:55 am

How'd you go with that? I'm considering adding a apc20 to my setup including a launchpad, but I would want to use the launchpad as a full unit, not just as a 64 button "keyboard" - I would also want session mode and some control of fx ( so I would need remote turned on I think, am i correct? )
I only just found out the faders follow the "red box" in ableton, THAT is great!
Using Ableton for Composing/Remixing/DJing
Macbook 2.26GHz/8GB/500GB/7200rpm/OSX Lion
ZeRO SL MkII & Launchpad
Reloop 10tion - Behringer Truth 1030A's - Sennheiser HD280's
Ableton Suite 8.2.2 - Automap Pro 3.7
http://soundcloud.com/jbainesy

thatMcFlyGuy
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 5:40 pm

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by thatMcFlyGuy » Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:48 am

nemoy wrote:What says your midi preferences window?
if you use an APC20, you might want to deactivate the "remote" option for the launchpad.
I actually do this the other way around. You still have full apc20 control with the remote, tracking, and sync options off (or at least I do). And with the remote and tracking options on for the LP you get all the mapping functions.

Bainesy
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by Bainesy » Thu Aug 11, 2011 10:31 am

That actually makes a lot of sense - cos the apc would be using the "instant mappings" when you select it, so no real need for the remote/sync/track ;-)

So that works well then? Might have to get an apc soon - faders following the "grid selection box" would be of great benefit!

Thanks for the info ;-)
Using Ableton for Composing/Remixing/DJing
Macbook 2.26GHz/8GB/500GB/7200rpm/OSX Lion
ZeRO SL MkII & Launchpad
Reloop 10tion - Behringer Truth 1030A's - Sennheiser HD280's
Ableton Suite 8.2.2 - Automap Pro 3.7
http://soundcloud.com/jbainesy

mangulicafm
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:22 am

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by mangulicafm » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:41 am

thanks a lot guys!

ok, i turn off apc20s remote/sync/track and it solves the collision with launchpad but then i have another problem. i can't remap the faders??

Bainesy
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by Bainesy » Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:00 am

Yeah, no... I don't THINK that's a possibility with remote turned off mate...
Unless someone here knows some sorta workaround??

But by the book, no, you can't map them if remote is turned off...
Using Ableton for Composing/Remixing/DJing
Macbook 2.26GHz/8GB/500GB/7200rpm/OSX Lion
ZeRO SL MkII & Launchpad
Reloop 10tion - Behringer Truth 1030A's - Sennheiser HD280's
Ableton Suite 8.2.2 - Automap Pro 3.7
http://soundcloud.com/jbainesy

S4racen
Posts: 5426
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by S4racen » Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:31 pm

There isn't a workaround as neither device has the ability to be edited for it's midi output...

The option would be to use M4L to disable the faders and then rempa them to an M4L device which talks to the paramters you want... you don't say what you're remapping the faders to??

Cheers
D

mangulicafm
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:22 am

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by mangulicafm » Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:50 pm

thanks :) i don't know a thing about m4l so i hope there is another way to solve the problem :)

i need faders for controlling some macro controls(effect and drum racks)...

launchpad i'm using user1 and user2 modes. user1 for triggering drum rack samples and user2 for playing with some effects.

is there any solution?

S4racen
Posts: 5426
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by S4racen » Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:47 pm

If you focus on the effect rack the automap blue hand will assign the device control encoders to them allowing control, the faders will always map to the corresponding volume of the track within the redlaunch rectangle...

You're kinda stuck, if you have midi on for both you'll have the conflict, does having midi turned on for the launchpad for track rather than remote work as then you'll only allow midi through to a track thats enabled and in focus?? (thats what i think anyway)

Cheers
D

mangulicafm
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:22 am

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by mangulicafm » Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:22 pm

haha too complicated :D i found out that troublemakers are the buttons in the sixth column of apc20 grid so my solution for now is black ducktape over them, hopefuly it will prevent me from pressing them :D

S4racen
Posts: 5426
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: a problem with launchpad & apc20 combo

Post by S4racen » Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:24 pm

Ghetto, i like it!

Cheers
D

Locked