Vocoder and MIDI track volume help

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Centennialite

Vocoder and MIDI track volume help

Post by Centennialite » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:33 pm

Hello! I'm still fairly new to Ableton Live. I've used Cakewalk Home Studio before, so not quite a complete novice, but I'm beginning to see that I'm in way over my head as far as comparative knowledge. After searching Ableton Support and the forums here, I think I need to just ask my question here. I do apologize if I overlooked it somewhere else.

Okay, starting with my system and stuff:
Dell Inspiron 620 Intel i5, 8G RAM, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, Creative X-Fi sound card, Ableton Live 8.2.6, Oxygen61 MIDI Controller, ART TubeMP Project Series mic preamp. Don't ask me what kind of mic I'm using because it's a hundred years old and I don't remember! ;) It is a dynamic mic though

I'm trying to use Ableton's Vocoder for "talking synth" effect. I have track one as audio, with the mic going in, and the Vocoder loaded. Audio From: external; Audio To: master. Track 2 is MIDI and has Synth Brass-Brass Brassinski loaded. Volume on this track is turned all the way up at the moment. The Vocoder: Carrier: external; audio from: 2-Brass Brassinski, pre-fx. (I have "enhance" highlighted for carrier, although I don't notice if it makes a difference.. it's okay, you can laugh at me!). Track 2 is muted. Tracks 1 and 2 have record enabled.