Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
2Dollar_Bill
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:15 am

Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by 2Dollar_Bill » Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:48 pm

I'm trying out Ableton for the first time and using it as a sequencer to trigger the sounds on my Yamaha Keyboard for my first song...

So,, I've created my midi clips in session view and then created my song in the arrangement view...
Now I want to mix the volume of each track instrument programmed arrangement view,,, but,,, can't seem to control the master volume for each track... when I unfold track button to see the properties and pull down the volume level,,,I only have the option of only turning on or off for the volume... I tried selecting all midi clips,,, but I don't have any option to change volume for all selected midi clips...

The only way I can change the volume is to go into each midi clip and adjust there...
Is there a way to make the adjustment with out going through each midi clip...?

Thanks for the Help...

dtrue17
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:22 pm
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by dtrue17 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:23 am

Are you wanting to change the volume of each entire track as a whole or change volume over time in your arrangement?

It sounds like your problem is that the 'volume control' or fader in Arrangement View isn't as obvious as in Session View. Is this right?
Ableton Live 8.2.8
Roland TD-3SW Drum Kit
ASUS G-series, Intel i7 2.8Ghz, 6GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit

2Dollar_Bill
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:15 am

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by 2Dollar_Bill » Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:42 am

I want to change the volume of the entire track...

I can change it in each midi clip,, but then i have to go through a lot of midi clips...

yes volume control or fader in Arrangement View isn't as obvious... and if i go back to session view and change the volume there,,, it doesn't do any changes in the Arrangement View...

dtrue17
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:22 pm
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by dtrue17 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:40 am

In arrangement view, check out the small, orange rectangle on the right side of each track. You have to input volume in terms of dB instead of a %. Have fun!
Ableton Live 8.2.8
Roland TD-3SW Drum Kit
ASUS G-series, Intel i7 2.8Ghz, 6GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit

2Dollar_Bill
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:15 am

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by 2Dollar_Bill » Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:05 am

what a drag,,, don't have that option...
did I do something wrong when i created my midi clips..?

Image

2Dollar_Bill
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:15 am

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by 2Dollar_Bill » Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:20 am

I ended up loading a sound from the devices/instruments onto the track,,, now I get the small, orange rectangle on the right side... but I've lost the signal to my Yamaha keyboard,,, Id rather use the sounds on my Yamaha,,, instead of the Ableton sound library... there must be a trick to controlling the track volume that midi's to an external sound module...?
sorry,,, I'm new to the computer workstation programing..(

dylanthor
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:43 pm

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by dylanthor » Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:07 am

you see on your first track towards the right where it says Mixer and underneath it Speaker On?
Just click the dropdown menu where it says Speaker On and switch it to Track Volume, then you can change the level of the track by dragging the red line up or down. Alternatively, if you want to change it only in certain areas, click the little pencil button on the toolbar (or press ctrl+b) and then click above or below the red line to set your automated volume changes. Good luck have fun! :)
~_~

dylanthor
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:43 pm

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by dylanthor » Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:08 am

oh yah forgot to mention;
you can do the same for the rest of the tracks, just make sure that the first dropdown menu selection is on mixer and then you can find track volume underneath the second :)
+_+

Muzik 4 Machines
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:35 am

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by Muzik 4 Machines » Wed Feb 15, 2012 7:01 am

open clip
show envelopes
choose midi
choose cc7
draw your automation

2Dollar_Bill
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:15 am

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by 2Dollar_Bill » Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:45 pm

Hi Dylanthor,,, I tried the dropdown already,,, and received the same response when i pull the the red line and that is limited to On or Off... Looks like I'll have to go into each midi clip and adjust the volume there,,, wow,, over 100 midi clip to go through...(


do you guys have this problem when you midi out to another sound module in Arragement and want to do final level mix.?

Muzik 4 Machines
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:35 am

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by Muzik 4 Machines » Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:53 pm

consolidate all clips in each track, way easier to do the envelopes
another solution is to use the external instruments plugin and return each out from your HW on different tracks matching the MIDI tracks, then use regular session automation

dylanthor
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:43 pm

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by dylanthor » Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:08 pm

2Dollar_Bill wrote:Hi Dylanthor,,, I tried the dropdown already,,, and received the same response when i pull the the red line and that is limited to On or Off.
2dollarbill, you have to make sure that you have selected track volume, not speaker on/off
FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS;
1. Make sure the first dropdown is set to "Mixer"
2. Make sure the second dropdown is set to "Track Volume"
3. ONCE IT IS SET TO "Track Volume" move the red line up or down as you wish, or enable to pencil tool to draw in automation
:) ~_~

2Dollar_Bill
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:15 am

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by 2Dollar_Bill » Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:41 pm

dylanthor - I tried that too but from what you can see in my image is that the drum channel and the other channels I can't switch to Channel Volume in that 2nd drop down menu... it's defaulted to Speaker on/off... I do have Channel Volume in the Master,, but it doesn't really control anything on what i have programmed...

Muzik 4 Machines - I'm new to this DAW world so you lost me on
use the external instruments plugin and return each out from your HW on different tracks matching the MIDI tracks, then use regular session automation..

You would have to walk me through a simple sample for me to pull that off... The only part i understood was the use the external instruments plugin and I got lost after that..

I appreciate your help Guys..) Thought it would be a easy fix for this minor volume control problem with out going into every single clip to change volume...

Thanks dylanthor and Muzik 4 Machines..)

Image

yur2die4
Posts: 6448
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Adjusting Volume for midi data track in Arrangement view

Post by yur2die4 » Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:33 pm

Make one new midi channel.

Create a midi clip in session view. Put a cc 7 automation for whatever duration.

Highlight all other channels and set input from that channel. Turn on overdub and Arm all for record.

Play track and at moment when you want volume reduction, play the clip (make sure it only loops for the last bar, and the last bar is set to zero volume).

Locked