Old VSTs under Win7/64Bit

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
rs3d
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:38 pm

Old VSTs under Win7/64Bit

Post by rs3d » Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:39 pm

I would like to use some old VSTs in Live 8 under Windows 7/64
but even though I copied the specific files to the system32 folder
they don't appear in Live. Any hints?

Old VSTs:
http://jezwells.org/Computer_music_tools.html

yur2die4
Posts: 6400
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Old VSTs under Win7/64Bit

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:51 pm

Live does not currently support 64 bit vsts. If you find a 32 bit version, that should work.

rs3d
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Old VSTs under Win7/64Bit

Post by rs3d » Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:47 am

These are old 32bit VSTs, not 64Bit, just Windows 7 is.
Due to the different system folder handling I guess this
doesn't work, but maybe someone has a general comment
how to make old VSTs run.

cotdagoo
Posts: 1029
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: Old VSTs under Win7/64Bit

Post by cotdagoo » Sat Feb 25, 2012 4:24 pm

make a folder in C:\ called VST..

copy files there..

direct Live to look in that location for VSTs..

Why you would be putting any VSTs into your System32 folder I have no clue.. but I can only imagine issues with rights and privileges by doing so.

rs3d
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Old VSTs under Win7/64Bit

Post by rs3d » Sat Feb 25, 2012 5:28 pm

I know how to install VSTs, but these ones need additional DLLs that need to
be in a system folder. I put them there, I also tried the VST folder itself,
but Live still doesn't recognize them. Please try it yourself, in general
I know what I'm doing :-)

cotdagoo
Posts: 1029
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: Old VSTs under Win7/64Bit

Post by cotdagoo » Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:04 pm

Noticed this on the page you linked..
If you do use them, let me know how you get on (jez[at]jezwells[dot]org) and report any bugs or problems so I can look into how they might be resolved in future versions.
The index says the page was last updated Feb 2nd 2012.. so chances are pretty good for being able to contact the author to report any bugs or problems.

I'm going to assume this is a problem isolated to his VSTs and not a concern for VSTs that don't require extra dlls.

Have you tried any other VST hosts apart from Live?

rs3d
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Old VSTs under Win7/64Bit

Post by rs3d » Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:36 pm

That's the answer of the developer :-(
>Thanks for your interest in these plug-ins. I'm afraid I have not tested them in Windows 7,
>nor do I yet have a Windows 7 development system so getting Win64 versions together
>is going to be some way I'm afraid.....
>Sorry I can't give a more positive answer at this stage

dentaku
Posts: 612
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:42 am

Re: Old VSTs under Win7/64Bit

Post by dentaku » Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:12 pm

Put the Intel NSP .dll files in C:\Windows\SysWOW64 instead of C:\Windows\System32
and the effect's .dll files in a folder outside of Program Files ... such as C:\VstPlugins

Tell us if this works and if it does, e-mail the developers so they can instruct their users.
rs3d wrote:I would like to use some old VSTs in Live 8 under Windows 7/64
but even though I copied the specific files to the system32 folder
they don't appear in Live. Any hints?

Old VSTs:
http://jezwells.org/Computer_music_tools.html
Custom built quiet Intel E6700 based PC, Echo Mia MIDI, Win7 64bit, Akai MPK49, Akai LPD8, Korg nanoKONTROL (which I don't realy use anymore), Ableton Live, Reason

Locked